Are a Unit of Guardians with a Gun T7?

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Are a Unit of Guardians with a Gun T7?

Post  Lore Weaver on Mon Aug 13, 2012 10:32 am

As the subject states, if a unit of guardian takes a scatter laser jigger, are they T7 according to the artillery rules?

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Are a Unit of Guardians with a Gun T7?

Post  gluvzer on Mon Aug 13, 2012 10:38 am

Isn't that rule for 'units' of artillery? I don't have my BRB with me.

_________________

gluvzer
Lord of Titan/Hero of ToonCon/Ayatollah of Rock n' Rolla
Lord of Titan/Hero of ToonCon/Ayatollah of Rock n' Rolla

Posts : 1428
Join date : 2008-03-11
Location : S'toon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Are a Unit of Guardians with a Gun T7?

Post  Lore Weaver on Mon Aug 13, 2012 10:43 am

In the appendix, I don't see a "unit type" of "artillery", although I agree with that, it should be for artillery battery things. I think this is the only grey area... maybe IG can do that too???

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Are a Unit of Guardians with a Gun T7?

Post  gluvzer on Mon Aug 13, 2012 10:52 am

When I was reading the artillary rules I had ork aritllary and Thunderfires in my mind as I was trying to transfer the rules to game terms. But, that being said I really don't remember too much of the artillary part, except thinking they got better.

As of now Guard don't have anything that fits those rules, their stuff is all gun teams or vehicle mounted.

_________________

gluvzer
Lord of Titan/Hero of ToonCon/Ayatollah of Rock n' Rolla
Lord of Titan/Hero of ToonCon/Ayatollah of Rock n' Rolla

Posts : 1428
Join date : 2008-03-11
Location : S'toon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Are a Unit of Guardians with a Gun T7?

Post  Lore Weaver on Mon Aug 13, 2012 10:55 am

Basically, they count as Majority T7, the gun has 2 wounds and a 3+ save, closest models are still removed first, and use their own save.

Basically, with Orks, you can have a biggish unit of T7 grots. 3 Lobba's or Cannon's would be fairly cheap, do stuff, and be difficult to displace.

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Are a Unit of Guardians with a Gun T7?

Post  gluvzer on Mon Aug 13, 2012 11:15 am

Good deal to have your techmarine standing out front of your thunderfire now, to take the wounds at T7 with his 2+/4+ cover (3+ in ruins)!

_________________

gluvzer
Lord of Titan/Hero of ToonCon/Ayatollah of Rock n' Rolla
Lord of Titan/Hero of ToonCon/Ayatollah of Rock n' Rolla

Posts : 1428
Join date : 2008-03-11
Location : S'toon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Are a Unit of Guardians with a Gun T7?

Post  System Commander on Mon Aug 13, 2012 11:55 am

Yeah.. Looks exactly like that. It says you always use the toughness of gun for wounds. .. Then allocate accordimgly.

Grots hiding behind a gun in cover is not to bad.

Dislodging a techmarine standing in front of his thunderfire in some ruins hes fortified sounds like a major pain to kill.

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4693
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Are a Unit of Guardians with a Gun T7?

Post  Rhaevyn on Mon Aug 13, 2012 12:43 pm

everything in this game is solved by enough lascannons.

Must make new list.

_________________
There is no 'overkill.' There is only 'open fire' and 'time to reload.'

Rhaevyn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2465
Join date : 2011-08-19
Age : 38
Location : Mike Bidyk

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Are a Unit of Guardians with a Gun T7?

Post  System Commander on Mon Aug 13, 2012 1:21 pm

Oh.. As for the guardians.

Is the unit that takes the scatter laser turned to an artillery unit. Im guessing those guys remain infantry.


System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4693
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Are a Unit of Guardians with a Gun T7?

Post  gluvzer on Mon Aug 13, 2012 2:17 pm

System Commander wrote:Oh.. As for the guardians.

Is the unit that takes the scatter laser turned to an artillery unit. Im guessing those guys remain infantry.


So you put the gun out front of the unit!

_________________

gluvzer
Lord of Titan/Hero of ToonCon/Ayatollah of Rock n' Rolla
Lord of Titan/Hero of ToonCon/Ayatollah of Rock n' Rolla

Posts : 1428
Join date : 2008-03-11
Location : S'toon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Are a Unit of Guardians with a Gun T7?

Post  miv305 on Mon Aug 13, 2012 5:47 pm

The gun is treated like a marker, it's not artillery, etc.

miv305
Crusader

Posts : 299
Join date : 2008-05-16

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Are a Unit of Guardians with a Gun T7?

Post  Guest on Tue Aug 14, 2012 9:47 am

ya the guardian gun isn't an artillery piece,

as miv305 said, its a counter that is shot by the gunners.

the Eldar do however have artillery units with D-Cannons/Webspinner guns/Vibrocannons, its just that nobody used them over Falcons/Wraithlords/Dark Reapers/War Walkers/Fire Prisms.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Are a Unit of Guardians with a Gun T7?

Post  Deadlytoaster on Wed Aug 15, 2012 2:22 am

The gun does not count for anything in the guardian unit it is simply a marker (and can even be removed if its in the way) it can be fired by either of the gunners. So no T7 there (though that woulda been awesome). I find its true theres no unit type artillery...but i think they outline it fairly clearly what is artillery and what is not.

_________________


"We bring only Death and leave only Carrion, it is a message even a human can understand"
-Reqhiel of the Sons of Fuegan

Deadlytoaster
Inquisitor

Posts : 502
Join date : 2012-06-27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Are a Unit of Guardians with a Gun T7?

Post  Sponsored content Today at 4:51 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum