Assaulting a second unit after shooting the first to nothing.

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Assaulting a second unit after shooting the first to nothing.

Post  Guest on Fri Nov 28, 2008 11:18 pm

So I'm seeing an outright contradiction...

pg 33... "[a unit] cannot assault a different unit to the one it previously shot at."

pg 67 "However, if a transport is destroyed (either result) by a ranged attack, the unit that shot it may assault the now disembarked passengers, if it is allowed to assault according to the assault rules."

So, what I'm seeing is the pg 33 quote applying to SURVIVING units, meaning that if you apply the pg 67 quote you wipe out a squad of (oh, let's say) fire warriors, they are no longer a valid target, assault the crisis suits. (with all other applicable rules)

Or, on the other hand, the pg33 quote applies to both surviving and "recently departed" targets, then according the assault rules, pg 67 wastes five lines of ink... (and i doubt is the spirit of that rule)

Or, on the other other hand, that's the only exception.

Thoughts?

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Assaulting a second unit after shooting the first to nothing.

Post  kerr_matt80 on Sat Nov 29, 2008 12:36 am

im kinda confused about what your askin by ill give it a whirl...you can only assault a unit you didnt shoot at in that case because it was the one inside the transport...so the only time that exception becomes applicable is when the shooting phase claimed a units transport and said unit is in assault range of your shooting unit

kerr_matt80
Assassin

Posts : 326
Join date : 2008-09-14

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Assaulting a second unit after shooting the first to nothing.

Post  System Commander on Sat Nov 29, 2008 1:54 am

Thats right. If you shoot a transport and it blows up, you can assault the unit that was in it. If you shoot a unit and wipe it out or it breaks and falls back, you cannot assault another unit. Makes the decision to shoot or assault pretty important. I have the problem all the time with all my berserkers.

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4689
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Assaulting a second unit after shooting the first to nothing.

Post  Guest on Sat Nov 29, 2008 9:21 am

Ah, the exception then. Fair enough.

I guess my point of contention is that you aren't shooting at the passengers, just the transport, which is considered its own unit in every other situation.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Assaulting a second unit after shooting the first to nothing.

Post  Guest on Sun Nov 30, 2008 3:22 pm

Poacher wrote:Ah, the exception then. Fair enough.

I guess my point of contention is that you aren't shooting at the passengers, just the transport, which is considered its own unit in every other situation.

Try thinking of it this way. An embarked unit and the transport they are in are co-existing at the same location on the table. A unit is shooting at the location where 2 units co-exist and can therefore charge the unit at the same exact location. I hope that helps

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Assaulting a second unit after shooting the first to nothing.

Post  Sponsored content Today at 3:07 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum