GW Necron FAQ released

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

GW Necron FAQ released

Post  Lore Weaver on Mon Jan 16, 2012 8:22 am

Doesn't answer our Killpoint question, or the Trazyn CCB question. We done good otherwise.

Tesla arcs to my own units now :-P

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2170012a_Necron_FAQ_Version_2_0_January_2012.pdf

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: GW Necron FAQ released

Post  Roland on Mon Jan 16, 2012 8:47 am

LOL I knew it'd be out soon.

_________________
Habes obdura si ista sis nugax - family proverb

Roland
Lord of Titan

Posts : 3543
Join date : 2011-01-26
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: GW Necron FAQ released

Post  Spamus Eatus on Mon Jan 16, 2012 9:48 am

It does answer the Trayzyn CCB bit, albiet in a roundabout way.

FAQ
Q: Does a Necron Overlord on a Catacomb Command
Barge benefit from Furious Charge on a Sweep Attack?
In addition, are Sweep Attacks close combat attacks?
(p52)
A: No to both questions

CODEX
"If Trayzyn kills one or more enemies in CLOSE COMBAT............."

So nope, no empathinc obliterating flyovers for Trayzn

Spamus Eatus
Inquisitor Lord

Posts : 777
Join date : 2008-05-09

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: GW Necron FAQ released

Post  Lore Weaver on Mon Jan 16, 2012 9:51 am

Thanks , I *just* noticed that myself. It'd've been nice if they specifically said "It no workie with Trazyn".

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: GW Necron FAQ released

Post  Lore Weaver on Mon Jan 16, 2012 9:52 am

Looks like the decided to punch Lash-Princes is the nuts.

Q: Is Lash of Submission a Psychic Shooting Attack and
must it roll To Hit? (p88)
A: Yes to both questions. Note that if it misses, it will
have no effect

Edit: AND

Q: Does Warptime allow the psyker to pick and choose
which To Hit and To Wound dice he will re-roll? (p88)
A: No. He can decide after each To Hit or To Wound roll
but he must re-roll all dice or no dice.

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: GW Necron FAQ released

Post  Spamus Eatus on Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:16 am

YES!

Lash of submission is for the weak. The sooner I see that power die off the happier I'll be.


Overall I'm quite impressed with the Necron FAQ. Released in a reasonable time, and pretty much answers everything in a straightforward way. Now, let's revisit the Tyranid FAQ, shall we?

Spamus Eatus
Inquisitor Lord

Posts : 777
Join date : 2008-05-09

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: GW Necron FAQ released

Post  Rhaevyn on Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:27 am

Lash nerf is meh. BS on princes and sorcerers is 5, i doubt it will deter people want to use lash.

Warptime Nerf is stooopid. Lets pay 25 points and risk a perils for a power that increases our chances of being average.

_________________
There is no 'overkill.' There is only 'open fire' and 'time to reload.'

Rhaevyn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2465
Join date : 2011-08-19
Age : 37
Location : Mike Bidyk

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: GW Necron FAQ released

Post  Rhaevyn on Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:58 am

The most important Chaos amendment is below.

Q: When working out which targets are visible to a
Chaos Dreadnought suffering from a Fire Frenzy result,
are you limited to those units within the 45 degree line
of sight of its weapons? (p40)
A: Yes.


So, facing your dreadnought away from your own models is a viable way of ensuring that if he fire frenzies, he wont shoot his friends.

_________________
There is no 'overkill.' There is only 'open fire' and 'time to reload.'

Rhaevyn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2465
Join date : 2011-08-19
Age : 37
Location : Mike Bidyk

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: GW Necron FAQ released

Post  System Commander on Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:03 am

That is a bizarre ruling on the warptime.. since the nemesis greatsword is essentially the same.. cept it says specifically you can reroll failed to hit and wound rolls.

Im fine about lash.. I hate the power as its set up now.. however.. i really dont think warptime should be any different then the greatsword..


Last edited by System Commander on Mon Jan 16, 2012 6:18 pm; edited 1 time in total

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4679
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: GW Necron FAQ released

Post  System Commander on Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:07 am

Im going to have to go see what else got updated.. what are they doing over there? These are all clarifications that should have happened 3 years ago.. hehe. why now?


Last edited by System Commander on Mon Jan 16, 2012 6:19 pm; edited 1 time in total

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4679
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: GW Necron FAQ released

Post  Lore Weaver on Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:40 am

Q: Can models embarked upon a vehicle use its fire
points to draw line of sight to a unit to use special
rules or wargear (other than shooting)? (p66)
A: No.
--
Q: If a transport vehicle is destroyed in a Movement
phase in which it has moved flat out, what happens to
any embarked models, as passengers may not
disembark from a vehicle that has moved flat out in
that Movement phase? (p70)
A: They are removed as casualties.
-- (clears that up)
Q: If a unit with the Counter-attack special rule passes
its Leadership test, does it count as assaulting (and so
would gain the bonuses from special rules like Furious
Charge) and can defensive grenades be used against
them? (p74)
A: No to both questions.
-- (seems obvious)

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: GW Necron FAQ released

Post  Rhaevyn on Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:47 am

I dunno, with the advent of Mech, psychic defenses and other ridiculousness afforded by more recent codexs, its not like lash lists are tearing it up out there. But like i said, its a minor, almost negligent nerf, and i doubt it will change anybody's lash list.


I'm glad for the Crons, a lot of little things cleared up.

I'm sure there are going to be some empty shelves where cryptek blister packs used to be. 5 units of 5 warriors with 2 crypteks of destruction each here we come! scoring mobile durable double missile platforms FTW!
add in two solar pulses and some heavy support and you have an army.

_________________
There is no 'overkill.' There is only 'open fire' and 'time to reload.'

Rhaevyn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2465
Join date : 2011-08-19
Age : 37
Location : Mike Bidyk

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: GW Necron FAQ released

Post  Lore Weaver on Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:52 am

If only the Cryptek Model wasn't so terrible. (Poor Finecast on top of a lackluster scuplt with a horrible pose).

Edit: I wonder if Anrakyr would still be allowed to Mind-in-the-Machine from his open-topped CCB (his ability requires LOS).
Edit 2: Looks like that's a big fat "No". No more Mind-in-the-Machine from the Barge for me. I might not take Anrakyr every match now! *laughs* I better get painting that last twin-linked Tesla Destructor so I can take 3 Annihilation Barges in one match! That'd be fun :-) I also better get painting my Surfboard Lord (The 100pt dude on a CCB).

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: GW Necron FAQ released

Post  Roland on Mon Jan 16, 2012 2:02 pm

The "transport destroyed in Move phase" is old, it came up at the tournament (Scott and John's game I believe?).


_________________
Habes obdura si ista sis nugax - family proverb

Roland
Lord of Titan

Posts : 3543
Join date : 2011-01-26
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: GW Necron FAQ released

Post  Rhaevyn on Mon Jan 16, 2012 3:05 pm

Lore Weaver wrote:If only the Cryptek Model wasn't so terrible. (Poor Finecast on top of a lackluster scuplt with a horrible pose).

Edit: I wonder if Anrakyr would still be allowed to Mind-in-the-Machine from his open-topped CCB (his ability requires LOS).
Edit 2: Looks like that's a big fat "No". No more Mind-in-the-Machine from the Barge for me. I might not take Anrakyr every match now! *laughs* I better get painting that last twin-linked Tesla Destructor so I can take 3 Annihilation Barges in one match! That'd be fun :-) I also better get painting my Surfboard Lord (The 100pt dude on a CCB).

I'm not getting this ruling, or your interpretation. open topped vehicles have no fire points. the models inside can clearly draw their own Line of Sight.

Pretty sure the ruling only applies to metal bawkzes, and weird ass non-attack psychic powers and abilities like say, Gift of Chaos, and now Mind War?

_________________
There is no 'overkill.' There is only 'open fire' and 'time to reload.'

Rhaevyn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2465
Join date : 2011-08-19
Age : 37
Location : Mike Bidyk

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: GW Necron FAQ released

Post  Timbo on Mon Jan 16, 2012 5:17 pm

I think Mind in the Machine out of a command barge would still work. Open-topped is different than fire points. Of course I could be wrong. I can understand a slight nerf to Lash, but Warptime? Really? Who would spend 25 points on that now? A lot of these rulings make sense, but that one just makes me wonder what kind of pinheads do they have working there?

Timbo
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1177
Join date : 2009-01-26
Age : 46
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: GW Necron FAQ released

Post  Roland on Mon Jan 16, 2012 6:10 pm

Agreed. Weird ruling. It's balanced and priced appo by allowing re-rolls to failed dice.

Tim: This proves again that they aren't lying when they insist they are a model company that happens to produce a game. I imagine several guys will be heading the way of Andy Chambers soon.

_________________
Habes obdura si ista sis nugax - family proverb

Roland
Lord of Titan

Posts : 3543
Join date : 2011-01-26
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: GW Necron FAQ released

Post  System Commander on Mon Jan 16, 2012 6:17 pm

Well, its hard comparing codexes amongst each other.. but 25 points for the nemesis greatsword not only allows rerolls for to hit and to wound fails.. but also you can reroll failed armour penetration rolls.. !

The delivery is a bit tougher as well with Str and Tgh 6, with a built in 2+5+ save. Of course, like I said you cant really compare units amongst books because the options and other elements start working together.. but geez.. its hard not to in this case.. I dont ever buy warptime myself.. only because I tend to just stick with Khorne DP.. but I definitely would if I brought one with a different mark.



System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4679
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: GW Necron FAQ released

Post  Rhaevyn on Mon Jan 16, 2012 8:35 pm

Its just another push towards msu.
zero point in paying for psychic powers... In the army that should understand the warp the best.

_________________
There is no 'overkill.' There is only 'open fire' and 'time to reload.'

Rhaevyn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2465
Join date : 2011-08-19
Age : 37
Location : Mike Bidyk

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: GW Necron FAQ released

Post  Roland on Mon Jan 16, 2012 9:01 pm

Few other updates of note (looks like all the Marine codexes, sisters, both Chaos codex, both apoc books and the main rulebooks)

clarification that Marine combats can do so ANYTIME on deployment.

Dark Angels have lost their scoring Attack Bikes and Speeders *sad trombone*

The Skyhammer formation has finally been corrected (after the book was taken out of print?)

Clarification for Apoc games: only Scoring units make hold objectives.

Still looking thru em all.

_________________
Habes obdura si ista sis nugax - family proverb

Roland
Lord of Titan

Posts : 3543
Join date : 2011-01-26
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: GW Necron FAQ released

Post  Paz on Tue Jan 17, 2012 11:21 pm



Veil crypteks and deathmarks just became much better

Q: Do models from a Royal Court that are attached to a
Deathmark Squad benefit from the Hunters from
Hyperspace special rule? (p90)
A: Yes.

So a veil cryptek DS's while attached to the deathmark squad, his super ap1 flamer now wounds on a 2+, if I'm reading this right. FUCK YEAH.

Paz
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2684
Join date : 2008-03-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: GW Necron FAQ released

Post  Spamus Eatus on Wed Jan 18, 2012 12:21 am

Tough one, the deathmarks are wounding on 2+ against toughness, while the staff thingie is wounding against leadership. I really can't give a call on that one. I'm in the camp that says Ankrayar can still use his ability from the barge, because it's open topped.


Spamus Eatus
Inquisitor Lord

Posts : 777
Join date : 2008-05-09

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: GW Necron FAQ released

Post  Paz on Wed Jan 18, 2012 1:03 pm

Ben- it says, if I remember correctly, that deathmarks wound on a 2+, and any unit that joins then, also wounds on a two plus, which to me sounds like it overrules the leadership versus strength of the staff. The deathmarks have sniper rifles, that always wound on a 4+, which is overruled by the hunt special rule. Toughness doesnt factor into the staff or the deathmarks rifles. So, seems to me clear that, as it does follow the to-hit and to wound rules, the staff wounds on a 2+, instead of its normal roll.

Paz
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2684
Join date : 2008-03-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: GW Necron FAQ released

Post  Lore Weaver on Wed Jan 18, 2012 2:07 pm

Ya, the Abyssal Staff will wound on a 2+ against the marked unit.

That's not as awesome as it seems, as it's tough to deepstrike close enough, and it's only on marked units. It'll be tough for that unit to live long enough to abuse the flamer. Now a Tremor Stave in there, or a Voltaic Stave (mmm assault 4, wounding on 2+, good against vehicular mobiles).

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: GW Necron FAQ released

Post  Paz on Thu Jan 19, 2012 5:41 pm

3 out of 4 games, my deathmarks and veil cryptek have ds'd within range, i'd say super worth it to take out any bigger or harder to kill units.

Paz
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2684
Join date : 2008-03-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: GW Necron FAQ released

Post  Sponsored content Today at 2:06 pm


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum