Rhino question

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Rhino question

Post  Mr Anderson on Mon May 25, 2009 9:17 pm

A few months ago I remember there was an update to the rhino that I think updated all other rhinos to the new version of point costs and such in the new Marine codex.

What I would like to know is if it is true that it applies to my Sisters and if anyone knows where the PDF or the documentation describing it is. ^^

Mr Anderson
Mystic

Posts : 159
Join date : 2008-03-13
Age : 32
Location : Saskatoon Saskatchewan!

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rhino question

Post  Lord_Commander_Stash on Mon May 25, 2009 10:44 pm

There was a gw ruling that if a standard piece of equipment changed in one codex it should be used as that in the other codexes i.e. bionics. Also the forgeworld Q&A change all the prices for purchasing transports which hints that the cost of transports should change for any of the codexes which havent been updated.

I think though this would have to stand as a house rule. I have no problem with 35 pt rhinos (15 pt extra armour) and 55 pt chimeras.

Lord_Commander_Stash
Grandmaster

Posts : 476
Join date : 2008-03-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rhino question

Post  Veyure on Mon May 25, 2009 11:59 pm

inone of the faq gw said that you use all the stats and points costs that are listed in your own codex. the only thing that overides it is if the main rulebook has newer updates. i think its the da faq.

just checked it out. from darkangels faq:
"Strictly, you should always use the rules from
your own Codex, and this is the default solution
you must use if you and your opponent can’t
come up with a better one (you’ll find that this
might be the case in tournaments, for example!).
However, always keep in mind the foreword we
have written to all of the Errata and FAQ
documents, as well as ‘The Most Important Rule’
described on page 2 of the Warhammer 40,000
rulebook, which states ‘… it is important to
remember that the rules are just a framework to
create an enjoyable game.
Winning at any cost is less important than making
sure both players – not just the victor – have a
good time.’ On this basis if an opponent asks you
if it’s okay for them to use the latest version of
the rules for a piece of equipment, or if they can
use a new item from Codex: Space Marines in
their own army, then you should say ‘Yes, of
course you can!’ Please note that ‘The Most
Important Rule’ cuts both ways, and because of
this, if you feel that a piece of new equipment
might spoil the game for your opponent by giving
your own army an unfair advantage, then you are
honour-bound not to use it."

use imperial armour 2 rules. has points adjust for all inquisition vehicles. the rules update is available for download on forgeworld website.

Veyure
Inquisitor

Posts : 699
Join date : 2008-03-19
Age : 31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rhino question

Post  Mr Anderson on Tue May 26, 2009 2:53 am

Thanks guys, that puts my mind at ease, it's been bugging me for days. :p

Mr Anderson
Mystic

Posts : 159
Join date : 2008-03-13
Age : 32
Location : Saskatoon Saskatchewan!

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rhino question

Post  System Commander on Tue May 26, 2009 9:29 am

Yup, your stuck using the old points cost for your rhinos right now, same boat Im in for daemonhunters.

The one saving grace for us though is allies.. we can use the new points cost for allied guardsmen and cheap Chimeras!!


Last edited by System Commander on Tue May 26, 2009 1:16 pm; edited 1 time in total

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4693
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rhino question

Post  Lord_Commander_Stash on Tue May 26, 2009 1:07 pm

System Commander wrote:Yup, your stuck using the old points cost for your rhinos right now, same boat Im in for daemonhunters.

The one saving grace for us though is allies.. we can use the new points cost for allied guardsmen and cheap Chimeras!!

On the same technicallity that you are stuck with the old points cost, you cant take the new chimeras since armoured fist squads technically dont exist anymore.

Lord_Commander_Stash
Grandmaster

Posts : 476
Join date : 2008-03-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rhino question

Post  System Commander on Tue May 26, 2009 1:18 pm

Oh yeah, armored fist squads are done.. however, you buy infantry platoons right out of the guard codex.. same with sentinels and lemans.

You can buy an infantry platoon and buy chimera transports for 55 points.. perfectly legal.

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4693
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rhino question

Post  Mr Anderson on Tue May 26, 2009 2:42 pm

So let me get this straight, I'm stuck using the old point costs for the rhinos unless it's agreed that the games are going to be using the Imperial Armor books point costs for Sisters rhinos. Right?
http://www.forgeworld.co.uk/pdf/ia2-update.pdf (Page 14)

Mr Anderson
Mystic

Posts : 159
Join date : 2008-03-13
Age : 32
Location : Saskatoon Saskatchewan!

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rhino question

Post  System Commander on Tue May 26, 2009 3:36 pm

I think Ill just go out on a limb right now and make a ruling. Since we tend to use Imperial Armour regularly and everything is quite friendly in the league, I have no problem allowing you to take the Sisters Rhino entry in the Imperial Armour update and buying them for 35 points.

We all know it will eventually happen, and no reason to be unfairly persecuted while they redo the Inqusitor books, due out in 2020. They should of made a universal ruling when they first came out.. darn GW sometimes..

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4693
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rhino question

Post  Veyure on Tue May 26, 2009 7:34 pm

The Lemans in the daemonhunters is just the standard battle tank and not any of the other varients, right? and can you tank a tank squad or just a single tank?

Veyure
Inquisitor

Posts : 699
Join date : 2008-03-19
Age : 31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rhino question

Post  System Commander on Wed May 27, 2009 12:02 am

Id have to side with a standard leman, no variants, and no battle squad.

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4693
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rhino question

Post  Sponsored content Today at 8:41 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum