No Retreat! And Multiple units

View previous topic View next topic Go down

No Retreat! And Multiple units

Post  Matthew G on Sat Nov 08, 2008 9:42 pm

The rule says:

"These units do not take Moral checks and will never fall back. Instead, these units suffer a number of wounds equal to the number their side has lost combat by (allocated as normal).

All types of saving throws, except for cover saves, can be taken against these wounds."

Above is the *exact* wording of the rule on Pg 44 of the rule book.

NOW, my question....

Two units of "fearless" models assault ONE of my units. And my unit actually manages to get a WIN in close combat. What happens...? Does EACH assaulting unit suffer a number of wounds EQUAL to the amount they lost combat by? (Example: They deal 3 wounds and I deal 5. I win combat by 2. They would have to make a leadership or fall back - but cannot because they are "fearless". Does each of the 2 units assaulting suffer 2 wounds, OR, does their Side suffer 2 wounds period and the controlling player can allocate both wounds to just one of the two "fearless" units??)

This situation came up in a battle recently, and there was a lot of kafuffle about it and I wanted to get the leagues clarification. I feel that each unit that lost the assault would take a number of wounds equal to the amount their side lost by, so in the above example, both attacking units would take 2 wounds for losing that assault.

Thanks

Matt

Matthew G
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1083
Join date : 2008-06-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: No Retreat! And Multiple units

Post  Veyure on Sat Nov 08, 2008 11:46 pm

morale tests are taken by individual units after assault so i would assume that each individual unit would take the wounds. consider if you had one squad of Chaos marines and one squad of T-sons(fearless unit), They lose combat by 2 to a squad of gardsmen. The marines would take a morale test as normal and i would assume that the T-sons would take a couple wounds.

Veyure
Inquisitor

Posts : 699
Join date : 2008-03-19
Age : 31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: No Retreat! And Multiple units

Post  Lord_Commander_Stash on Sun Nov 09, 2008 1:31 am

I would say each unit would take wounds equal to what they lost combat by. This seems to be implied by "..take wounds equal to the amount their side lost the combat by" as well.

Lord_Commander_Stash
Grandmaster

Posts : 476
Join date : 2008-03-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: No Retreat! And Multiple units

Post  System Commander on Sun Nov 09, 2008 2:12 am

For sure, they definitely each take 2 wounds.

Take the same situation and apply it to non-fearless units. Two units assault one and lose the comabt by 5. How would their "side" take a minus 5 modifier to their morale checks.. can't be done. Each units takes a -5 to check for morale, exact same situation for the fearless units.

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4693
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: No Retreat! And Multiple units

Post  Sponsored content Today at 8:47 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum