Things Noticed in 7th

Page 2 of 2 Previous  1, 2

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Re: Things Noticed in 7th

Post  Rhaevyn on Mon May 26, 2014 2:03 am

yeah, i fail at attention span. got a real digital copy now instead of the scan that was floating around.

Darrens sale seems to have worked because they were sold out by 3pm for hard copies.

_________________
There is no 'overkill.' There is only 'open fire' and 'time to reload.'

Rhaevyn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2465
Join date : 2011-08-19
Age : 37
Location : Mike Bidyk

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Things Noticed in 7th

Post  Matthew G on Mon May 26, 2014 8:24 am

Psy-hoods only help cancel a hostile power that affects the Libby or a friendly squad within 12" now?

Matthew G
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1083
Join date : 2008-06-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Things Noticed in 7th

Post  Lore Weaver on Mon May 26, 2014 8:28 am

Matthew G wrote:Psy-hoods only help cancel a hostile power that affects the Libby or a friendly squad within 12" now?

Buff over 6th, it was 6" before.

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Things Noticed in 7th

Post  Matthew G on Mon May 26, 2014 8:41 am

Lore Weaver wrote:
Matthew G wrote:Psy-hoods only help cancel a hostile power that affects the Libby or a friendly squad within 12" now?

Buff over 6th, it was 6" before.

But doesn't do anything to stop enemy buff powers though, right? That will still need 6's to cancel, correct?

Matthew G
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1083
Join date : 2008-06-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Things Noticed in 7th

Post  Lore Weaver on Mon May 26, 2014 9:11 am

Matthew G wrote:
Lore Weaver wrote:
Matthew G wrote:Psy-hoods only help cancel a hostile power that affects the Libby or a friendly squad within 12" now?

Buff over 6th, it was 6" before.

But doesn't do anything to stop enemy buff powers though, right? That will still need 6's to cancel, correct?

Yep, the pro-move is to use more dice to dispel that one key power. If duber uses 6 dice to cast fortune on his seercouncil, you need 10 dice to have a 50/50 shot at a dispel. It's a skewed distribution with a high standard deviation... (I ran and graphed some simulations... the math was getting crazy and setting up a simulator was easier).

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Things Noticed in 7th

Post  Aegwymourn on Mon May 26, 2014 9:39 am

Some people are contending that if your libby is within 12" of the unit receiving the blessing you'd get the bonus to deny as well. Poor wording on GW part so we don't know if that was the intention or not.

Aegwymourn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2528
Join date : 2012-07-01
Location : Rosetown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Things Noticed in 7th

Post  Matthew G on Mon May 26, 2014 9:45 am

Aegwymourn wrote:Some people are contending that if your libby is within 12" of the unit receiving the blessing you'd get the bonus to deny as well. Poor wording on GW part so we don't know if that was the intention or not.

Almost as good as the hoods used to be once upon a time. I miss those days.
How long you think it will take before the FAQs come out?

Matthew G
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1083
Join date : 2008-06-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Things Noticed in 7th

Post  dusktiger on Mon May 26, 2014 10:20 am

Allies of Convenience;

these have had a change; before you couldnt hit them with your weapons.  now, "are affected by attacks, special rules, or abilities used by AoC that affect 'enemy' units within a certain range or AoE."  dont use your nova abilities near your allies of convenience.

Desperate Allies get all the rules of Allies of Convenience, but each time they're within 6" of one of your other faction's units at the start of your turn, they make a D6 roll; on a 1 they cant do anything that turn. no move, cast, run, shoot, assault.  flyers cant pivot, and can only move 18" straight forward.

Come the Apocalypse units use all the rules Desperate Allies use, but also cannot be deployed within a foot of eachother.

dusktiger
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2304
Join date : 2010-11-12
Age : 31
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile http://dusktigers-den.blogspot.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Things Noticed in 7th

Post  dusktiger on Mon May 26, 2014 10:23 am

in the types of deployment maps, vanguard strike now specifies that a player's "board edge" when referenced by any unit when it discusses where it enters the board, is the Long Edge.  so reserves coming in off your board edge will only come in off the long side, not the short side.

_________________

dusktiger
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2304
Join date : 2010-11-12
Age : 31
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile http://dusktigers-den.blogspot.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Things Noticed in 7th

Post  dusktiger on Mon May 26, 2014 10:26 am

change to first blood:

if a unit from both sides is killed simultaneously, [eg; at the same initiative step in assault], then both players gain first blood.

_________________

dusktiger
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2304
Join date : 2010-11-12
Age : 31
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile http://dusktigers-den.blogspot.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Things Noticed in 7th

Post  dusktiger on Mon May 26, 2014 10:33 am

Combines reserve units:

here's where your "can an IC with infiltrate join a unit in reserve to give it infilrate too or not?" comes in.

During deployment, when deciding which units are kept as reserves, you must specify if any of the ICs in Reserve are joining a unit, in which case they must arrive together.  Similarly, you must specify if any units in Reserve are embarked upon any transport vehicles in Reserve, in which case they will arrive together.  In either case, when making a reserve Roll for a combined unit, roll a single dice for the unit and/or its IC/Transport vehicle.


addition: Reserve rolls;
turn 2; you need a 3+
turn 3; you need a 3+
turn 4; they come on automatically.

_________________

dusktiger
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2304
Join date : 2010-11-12
Age : 31
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile http://dusktigers-den.blogspot.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Things Noticed in 7th

Post  Matthew G on Mon May 26, 2014 10:36 am

dusktiger wrote:Combines reserve units:

here's where your "can an IC with infiltrate join a unit in reserve to give it infilrate too or not?" comes in.

During deployment, when deciding which units are kept as reserves, you must specify if any of the ICs in Reserve are joining a unit, in which case they must arrive together.  Similarly, you must specify if any units in Reserve are embarked upon any transport vehicles in Reserve, in which case they will arrive together.  In either case, when making a reserve Roll for a combined unit, roll a single dice for the unit and/or its IC/Transport vehicle.

No it doesn't. Just looking at IC's joining units that are going to be in reserve. Not starting on the table. Discussion continues. Maybe they will actually say something in the FAQ if it comes out... ever

Matthew G
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1083
Join date : 2008-06-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Things Noticed in 7th

Post  dusktiger on Mon May 26, 2014 10:47 am

in a way, yes it does; you're forgetting what infiltrate does;

Infiltrate's first ability: lets you place models that will be on the board within 12" of an enemy unit during deployment.

Infiltrate's second ability: confers Outflank to units that have the Infiltrate special rule that are placed in reserve.

so if you're going to say "this special character is in reserve, along with this unit; they're attached."  and said character has infiltrate, he lets the unit outflank with him.

dusktiger
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2304
Join date : 2010-11-12
Age : 31
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile http://dusktigers-den.blogspot.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Things Noticed in 7th

Post  Lore Weaver on Mon May 26, 2014 10:50 am

Yep, infiltrating IC can totally bring in a squad and outflank.

Infiltrating IC doesn't have an opportunity to confer infiltrate to a unit such that they can be deployed as infiltrators.

Do join a unit during deployment, he has to be deployed within coherency.  Do be deployed within coherency, the non-infiltrating unit needs to be deployed first, which means it doesn't infiltrate.

It was the same in 6th, but we just didn't play it that way, because of Shriek.

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Things Noticed in 7th

Post  Matthew G on Mon May 26, 2014 10:56 am

The question of infiltrate in relation to outflanking was never in question.

According to RAW I agree with Mark, as much as it bothers the crap outta me. I am glad we don't actually play it that way (at least, we didn't - and some may not allow it).

Either way, until an FAQ this subject has been beaten to death as we can continue to just bicker back and forth about it.

Matthew G
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1083
Join date : 2008-06-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Things Noticed in 7th

Post  judchic on Mon May 26, 2014 11:06 am

It seems odd to say in infiltrate "units with at least one model with this rule". How many squads have one model that can infiltrate that isn't a independent character?

judchic
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1047
Join date : 2008-10-20
Age : 29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Things Noticed in 7th

Post  Planes on Mon May 26, 2014 11:25 am

Well, Kill Teams can do that pretty easy, actually.

_________________
I use every part of the Space Buffalo.

Planes
Lord of Titan

Posts : 3142
Join date : 2011-11-27
Location : Mai'laun

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Things Noticed in 7th

Post  Rhaevyn on Mon May 26, 2014 12:00 pm

I agree with that. if only it was supported by the IND char deployment rules.

We should all write GW asking the question.. or maybe on the Black Library facebook page. you occaisionally can get an quick answer out of the digital guys

_________________
There is no 'overkill.' There is only 'open fire' and 'time to reload.'

Rhaevyn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2465
Join date : 2011-08-19
Age : 37
Location : Mike Bidyk

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Things Noticed in 7th

Post  Planes on Mon May 26, 2014 12:01 pm

Didn't GW shut down all their social media outlets a while back?

_________________
I use every part of the Space Buffalo.

Planes
Lord of Titan

Posts : 3142
Join date : 2011-11-27
Location : Mai'laun

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Things Noticed in 7th

Post  Rhaevyn on Mon May 26, 2014 12:22 pm

hmm. loosk like it. damn. i'm out of date. they were up at xmas.

in other news. glideing FMC have the jink special rule. so a shrouded nurgle DP could jink its way into your face with a 2+ cover save?

_________________
There is no 'overkill.' There is only 'open fire' and 'time to reload.'

Rhaevyn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2465
Join date : 2011-08-19
Age : 37
Location : Mike Bidyk

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Things Noticed in 7th

Post  judchic on Mon May 26, 2014 3:42 pm

poor tyranids... stupid come the apocalypse allies...
wait...
.
..
...
WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA?!?!?!?!?!?
"units will only ally 'cta' are treated EXACTLY like desperate allies, but cannot deploy within 12" when they are deploying for battle."


judchic
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1047
Join date : 2008-10-20
Age : 29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Things Noticed in 7th

Post  Sponsored content Today at 8:55 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 2 of 2 Previous  1, 2

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum