Tau Rules Clarification

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Tau Rules Clarification

Post  smackman on Sun Feb 01, 2009 4:34 pm

A Multitracker says "Allows two battle suit weapons to fire in the same turn." but Stealth Suits can only take one weapon, but they can take MultiTrackers, and in the rulebook the sample army gives them Multitrackers. My question is, Can a Multitracker allow a Stealth Suit to shoot their one gun twice? Then the follow up question, if I give a Crisis Suit a multitracker, missile pod and burst cannon does he have to fire both weapons or can he shoot one of them twice?

smackman
Inquisitor Lord

Posts : 754
Join date : 2008-11-03

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Tau Rules Clarification

Post  Justin Buhler on Mon Feb 02, 2009 10:00 pm

I'm curious to know where you're getting this Stealth unit in the example army that carries Multitrackers, as the one in Tau Empire doesn't. As for the rule itself, using common sense I would say no, since the Multitracker does not make the weapon fire faster, it merely allows for one of the weapon systems to be guided by a sophisticated targeting system allowing the pilot to coordinate their weapons. As for why Stealth suits can carry Multitrackers, probably just for consistency sake, and perhaps since the new XV-22 is technically a Stealth suit with two weapon systems, so perhaps they're preparing for that eventuality.

Justin

Justin Buhler
Sage

Posts : 88
Join date : 2008-03-14
Age : 33
Location : Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Tau Rules Clarification

Post  System Commander on Tue Feb 03, 2009 1:54 am

Nope, you definitely can't use Multitracker to fire the same weapon twice. I'm not sure where grabbing the stealth suit/multitracker rule. Do you have the old Tau book or an example army list built from somewhere? Tau Empire is the newest version.

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4693
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Tau Rules Clarification

Post  Justin Buhler on Tue Feb 03, 2009 1:06 pm

System Commander wrote:I'm not sure where grabbing the stealth suit/multitracker rule. Do you have the old Tau book or an example army list built from somewhere? Tau Empire is the newest version.

Well, technically Tau Empire does allow you to take Multitrackers for Stealth Suits (pg. 35: "Each team member may select one battlesuit support system. If this option is taken, all members must do so, though each may select a different system.") but there is no reason given XV-15 and XV-25 Stealth Suits can only mount one weapon system. As I mentioned perviously, the XV-22, the latest Stealth Suit prototype, does mount two weapon systems (but is only available for special characters), which is probably why Stealth Suits are technically allowed to carry Multitrackers (like I said earlier for consistency) but most often Stealth Suit support systems take on the guise of Targetting Arrays, Target Locks, Drone Controllers or in rare cases Shield Generators (heh, a unit of 6 Stealth Suits sporting Drone Controllers could theoretically bring 12 Drones with them into battle for 120pts provided they were all Gun Drones; not bad.).

Justin

Justin Buhler
Sage

Posts : 88
Join date : 2008-03-14
Age : 33
Location : Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Tau Rules Clarification

Post  smackman on Tue Feb 03, 2009 6:46 pm

Alrighty, thanks for the info, I thought 36 shots from 6 guys seemed a bit much.

smackman
Inquisitor Lord

Posts : 754
Join date : 2008-11-03

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Tau Rules Clarification

Post  smackman on Fri Mar 06, 2009 3:29 pm

Hey I have some more Tau rules to clarify, What does single shot mean for seeker missiles? for example, does that mean that if I had a devilfish mounted with 2 seeker missiles and I had 4 markerlights up I can only fire the 2 seekers that turn? or does it mean I have 2 seekers on my devilfish and once I fire them they're used up and gone for the game?

Also, has Acute Senses been removed from the 5th edition rule book? because I can't find it.

and, How does allocating wounds with shield drones work? lets say I have 3 stealth suits each with a drone controller and 2 shield drones, they get hit with 9 shots, do I resolve 3 on each stealth suit and use the drones armor/invul save and remove a drone from that model for each failed save? or do I split up the shots so that I have 6 on the 6 drones and 1 on each suit?
-My argument here is if the drone is supposed to protect the controller then shouldn't it be blocking the shots? or is one shot all a drone can handle and it lets the rest of the bullets through (get's overwhelmed or something stupid)

smackman
Inquisitor Lord

Posts : 754
Join date : 2008-11-03

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Tau Rules Clarification

Post  Veyure on Fri Mar 06, 2009 5:09 pm

Single shot means you can shoot it once in the game just like hunter killer missiles.

Im pretty sure acute senses is in the book under universal special rules.

The drones count as extra models in the squad and wound allocation works like a complex unit.

If im wrong on any of this people, feel free to correct me.

Veyure
Inquisitor

Posts : 699
Join date : 2008-03-19
Age : 31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Tau Rules Clarification

Post  smackman on Sat Mar 07, 2009 1:26 pm

ok thanks greg, makes sense, I just don't like it.

smackman
Inquisitor Lord

Posts : 754
Join date : 2008-11-03

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Tau Rules Clarification

Post  Guest on Thu Sep 10, 2009 10:24 pm

The Multitracker would allow you to fire a Team Leader's Burst/Fusion Cannon and his Markerlight in the same term if he was so equipped.

Not by pure RAW, but most people should allow it (as well as letting a Fire Warrior Shas'Ui to do the same with his regular rifle and Markerlight).

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Tau Rules Clarification

Post  Sponsored content Today at 4:58 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum