charging into assault

View previous topic View next topic Go down

charging into assault

Post  judchic on Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:47 pm

not sure how to question this so here is the scenario:

a squad shoots into a unit(A) and doesn't wipe it out. so the shooter charges the unit(A). can the charging shooter also go into melee combat with another unit(B) that is next to the unit(A) that was shot at?

i guess the question is can you assault multiple groups at the same time?

judchic
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1050
Join date : 2008-10-20
Age : 29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: charging into assault

Post  Matthew G on Thu Nov 13, 2008 12:06 am

Page 34 of the 40K rule book, under Assaulting Multiple Enemy units.

"As usual the closest attacking model must be moved to contact the closest model in the enemy unit against which the assault was declared. Then remaining models can assault models belonging to other enemy units, as long as they keep following the rules for moving assaulting models. Remember that the assaulting unit is not allowed to break its unit coherency, and this will obviously limit the potential for this kind of assault."

"If the assaulting unit shot in the shooting phase then it must declare its assault against the unit it shot at, but it can engage other enemies as described here."

Then read on "Moving assaulting Models"

So, looks like that answers it... Yes they can.

Matthew G
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1083
Join date : 2008-06-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: charging into assault

Post  Mr Anderson on Thu Nov 13, 2008 12:09 pm

Just a point here. you shouldn't be quoting the rulebook directly. Bigger sites than us have been lawhammered into the dust by by GW lawyers.
A reference to the page number and paragraph should be enough.
I may be wrong but better safe than sued. Smile

As for the question, yeah, that section of the rulebook does state that and it's pretty clear.

Mr Anderson
Mystic

Posts : 159
Join date : 2008-03-13
Age : 32
Location : Saskatoon Saskatchewan!

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: charging into assault

Post  System Commander on Thu Nov 13, 2008 3:16 pm

No, thats perfectly fine. You can't play the game by knowing one rule in the book. Were to small to be ever given any notice. I'd be overwhelmingly surprised if we ever got a wanring about anything... besdies, we'd first here about the banner before any rules infractions.

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4689
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: charging into assault

Post  Sponsored content Today at 2:55 pm


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum