lucius dop pod

View previous topic View next topic Go down

lucius dop pod

Post  the bushels on Sun Feb 15, 2015 12:37 pm

So im wanting to use a lucius drop pod for my space wolf blizzdread, and im wondering how it works with 7th ed. Drop pod rules state the dreadnought can assault the turn it arrives, but the brb says no assaults on the turn a unit arrives from reserves. I assume the drop pod rules override the brb, but the latest faq i can find doesnt clearly state such. Anyone know for sure it still works? Or is it a wasted 15 pt upgrade?

the bushels
Mystic

Posts : 159
Join date : 2014-06-04

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: lucius dop pod

Post  dusktiger on Sun Feb 15, 2015 2:07 pm

You must be reading an ollld version of the lucius. They haven't been 50 for a while. They're now 65pts and there's different rules for them now. He still can't assault the turn he arrives, yet there's a line that states assaulting out of it is possible if you pass a dangerous terrain test. Also, if he stays positioned on the pad or the wings of the pod, he gains shrouded and stealth, and shooting through the open pod at a unit behind it gives them the same benefits. I think there was another rule as well but I'm out of town so I can't check my book for the full run down. I'll give you the full rules for it once I'm home though. I have a copy of IA 2; 2nd edition. It's the most recent publication of it outside of 30k

_________________

dusktiger
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2306
Join date : 2010-11-12
Age : 31
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile http://dusktigers-den.blogspot.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: lucius dop pod

Post  dusktiger on Sun Feb 15, 2015 8:58 pm

ok, so here's what the lastest version of it is, which is in War Machines of the Adeptus Astartes:

now costs 50pts (missed that they dropped back to 50 from 65)
Drop Pod Assault
Immobile
Inertial Guidance System
Assault Vehicle
Burning Retros

Burning Retros gives the pod Shrouded the turn it arrives, and it can use it against Interceptor fire directed at it.  if the dread inside stays on any part of the pod on the turn it arrives, it gains Shrouded as well.  as does any unit being shot at so long as the LOF crosses through or over the drop pod's position.

Assault Vehicle gets is own description that's unique to this pod; when the Dreadnought disembarks, it can assault that turn.  but it still cant disembark, and then assault, on the same turn it arrives via deep strike.

TL;DR its an extra 15pts, in exchange, you can choose to leave the dread in/on the pod the turn it arrives to give it Shrouded, and then next turn he can disembark, move, shoot, assault.  the extra pts are for Shrouded vs Interceptor, and Shrouded vs ground shots against the dread.

_________________

dusktiger
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2306
Join date : 2010-11-12
Age : 31
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile http://dusktigers-den.blogspot.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: lucius dop pod

Post  the bushels on Sun Feb 15, 2015 9:00 pm

Ah ok! thanks for the clarification

the bushels
Mystic

Posts : 159
Join date : 2014-06-04

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: lucius dop pod

Post  Sponsored content Today at 2:47 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum