Need help understanding one of my Units.

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Need help understanding one of my Units.

Post  Matthew G on Tue Jun 10, 2014 12:11 pm

The Aragato's I have http://www.infinitythegame.com/infinity/en/2011/miniatures/aragoto-senkenbutai/

They are impetuous troops which as I understand it means they get a free movement, but this movement HAS to be directly towards the enemy.
What I don't understand is that what if the model is it's movement away from the enemy? Does it have to move into base to base and melee that unit? That's what I don't get... The Aragato is NOT a melee unit, and gets smashed in melee (unless I overlooked something or not understand something)... Why would a unit that is exponentially better at shooting it's gun willingly move into Close combat where it's probably going to get PWND?

I love the bikes, and want the other 2 bike models, but if I am going to have to suicide them to stupid rules I would rather not get any more...

Thanks,

Matthew G
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1083
Join date : 2008-06-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need help understanding one of my Units.

Post  GingerBalls on Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:00 pm

Impetuous orders are great because they essentially give you extra orders but I can see what you mean about the downfall. The nice thing though is that in the rare instance where you might get close enough to CC with an impetuous order, you can cancel it with an order from your pool. 95% of the time you will either go down shooting or take your opponent down before you will ever get close enough to CC but when you do get to that situation and don't want to you will have to cancel it.

GingerBalls
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1096
Join date : 2010-12-06

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need help understanding one of my Units.

Post  Matthew G on Tue Jun 10, 2014 3:30 pm

GingerBalls wrote:Impetuous orders are great because they essentially give you extra orders but I can see what you mean about the downfall. The nice thing though is that in the rare instance where you might get close enough to CC with an impetuous order, you can cancel it with an order from your pool. 95% of the time you will either go down shooting or take your opponent down before you will ever get close enough to CC but when you do get to that situation and don't want to you will have to cancel it.

I remember I had liked them being impetuous, until I managed to get within their move range of one of Jesse's dudes with a CCW.. Then was all like "wtf". Didn't know you could give an order to stop the impetuous. Coolbeans.


Matthew G
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1083
Join date : 2008-06-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need help understanding one of my Units.

Post  GingerBalls on Tue Jun 10, 2014 3:33 pm

Glad I could help. I also want to mention, before it comes up in a game, that spending an order to cancel an impetuous order will not provide your opponent with an ARO even if they are in LoF.

GingerBalls
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1096
Join date : 2010-12-06

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need help understanding one of my Units.

Post  Matthew G on Tue Jun 10, 2014 3:43 pm

GingerBalls wrote:Glad I could help. I also want to mention, before it comes up in a game, that spending an order to cancel an impetuous order will not provide your opponent with an ARO even if they are in LoF.

Good to know.

Matthew G
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1083
Join date : 2008-06-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need help understanding one of my Units.

Post  Paz on Tue Jun 10, 2014 4:03 pm

yeah, the chances of you getting into cc via an impetuous order are rare. Either the other guy somehow never caught you in an ARO (ian can attest how hard its been for his bike to get into cc, surviving the trip) or you used your impetuous order at the wrong time.

"Impetuous obliges the miniature, at the beginning of each Active turn and before Orders are spent, to perform a mandatory, free, Impetuous Order"

so you gotta use it before using any other orders.

"With the Impetuous Order the figure must move always the whole of his first MOV value as the Short Movement Skill: Move."

So you dont have to go 8-6, just 8.

"The figure may attack first and move afterwards or vice versa."- again, if you have LoF to a guy, shoot first! stay outta that shizzy cc.

Remember, you are only moving towards VISIBLE targets in LoF or targets within your Zone of Control (ZoC, 8 inches radius around your fig) at the beginning of that order. Otherwise you just need to move towards enemy deployment!

And, as ian said, you can spend an order if you absolutely do not want that bike moving.


Paz
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2689
Join date : 2008-03-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need help understanding one of my Units.

Post  Matthew G on Tue Jun 10, 2014 4:11 pm

Paz wrote:yeah, the chances of you getting into cc via an impetuous order are rare. Either the other guy somehow never caught you in an ARO (ian can attest how hard its been for his bike to get into cc, surviving the trip) or you used your impetuous order at the wrong time.

"Impetuous obliges the miniature, at the beginning of each Active turn and before Orders are spent, to perform a mandatory, free, Impetuous Order"

so you gotta use it before using any other orders.

"With the Impetuous Order the figure must move always the whole of his first MOV value as the Short Movement Skill: Move."

So you dont have to go 8-6, just 8.

"The figure may attack first and move afterwards or vice versa."- again, if you have LoF to a guy, shoot first! stay outta that shizzy cc.

Remember, you are only moving towards VISIBLE targets in LoF or targets within your Zone of Control (ZoC, 8 inches radius around your fig) at the beginning of that order. Otherwise you just need to move towards enemy deployment!

And, as ian said, you can spend an order if you absolutely do not want that bike moving.


It's been a while but if I recall how it went down it was like this.

Moved bike up and was on 1 side of a wall to a building (no LoS to anything), and I was hugging the wall on my way there so I didn't get AROd... Or... He missed an ARO, 1 or the other. But this wasn't my impetuous order I used to move the fig, it was a regular order as I had used its impetuous at the beginning of that round.

His turn, moves up one of his dudes behind the wall I was on the other side of. I was like 7" away and in the ZoC. For whatever reasons, maybe bc he knew he could bait my biker, he stayed there. My turn comes back around, and I have to issue that impetuous order, not knowing I could cancel it, and because he is 7" away, and bikes move 8, I had to CC him... Sad I roll into CC and get cut down with ease.... Hence my plight Smile

Matthew G
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1083
Join date : 2008-06-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need help understanding one of my Units.

Post  Paz on Tue Jun 10, 2014 4:42 pm

Ah. Well, lol, yes, in that case, you really had nothing you could do. If he's in your ZoC then ya gotta tag his ass, unless ya spend that order.

Paz
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2689
Join date : 2008-03-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need help understanding one of my Units.

Post  Matthew J on Tue Sep 16, 2014 4:26 pm

Sorry for the necro, but I wanted to point something out for anyone else who reads this in the future.

Remember that your 2nd skill can happen anywhere along your movement, so your Aragoto could still shoot even if it ends up in melee when the move ends. That way you're only stuck in CC if you fail to kill with that order. Also keep in mind though that the opposing model could do a CC attack as its ARO and still roll face to face with your shots, if I understand correctly.

The only way you wouldn't be able to shoot on the way in is if you somehow didn't have LoF until you were base to base, but I don't think that's actually possible. Wink

Matthew J
Servitor

Posts : 20
Join date : 2014-07-25

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need help understanding one of my Units.

Post  GingerBalls on Tue Sep 16, 2014 4:28 pm

Always good to know. Thanks again, Matthew!

GingerBalls
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1096
Join date : 2010-12-06

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Need help understanding one of my Units.

Post  Sponsored content Today at 1:32 pm


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum