Psychic Focus

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Psychic Focus

Post  Rhaevyn on Sun May 25, 2014 10:25 am

So a TZ herald is selecting spells

He selects all of his spells from Div and so gets the primaris spell  Prescience.  since he is a tz mark, he also automatically gets the primaris for TZ powers.... does this then take away his Div Primaris due to the Psychic focus rules?

...No prescience for any marked chaos sorcerers ever?

FU gdubs.


_________________
There is no 'overkill.' There is only 'open fire' and 'time to reload.'

Rhaevyn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2465
Join date : 2011-08-19
Age : 38
Location : Mike Bidyk

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Psychic Focus

Post  superdeuxlol on Sun May 25, 2014 10:54 am

I'm pretty sure you can still exchange for the primaris. Psychic focus is just a free spell so your ml3 can know 4 spells.

_________________

superdeuxlol
Assassin

Posts : 389
Join date : 2012-11-16

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Psychic Focus

Post  Lore Weaver on Sun May 25, 2014 11:03 am

Confirmed, you can still swap for the primaris. Focus just gives it to you for free.

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Psychic Focus

Post  Gulsnick on Mon May 26, 2014 10:43 pm

Rhaevyn wrote:So a TZ herald is selecting spells

He selects all of his spells from Div and so gets the primaris spell  Prescience.  since he is a tz mark, he also automatically gets the primaris for TZ powers.... does this then take away his Div Primaris due to the Psychic focus rules?

...No prescience for any marked chaos sorcerers ever?

FU gdubs.


i think generating a psychic power is rolling on one of the tables , otherwise the sorcerers could count the free csm primaris as one of the ones that he has to have for that stupid csm rule.

Gulsnick
Crusader

Posts : 281
Join date : 2008-03-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Psychic Focus

Post  Roland on Mon May 26, 2014 10:57 pm

Take an unmarked sorceror, done

_________________
Habes obdura si ista sis nugax - family proverb

Roland
Lord of Titan

Posts : 3544
Join date : 2011-01-26
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Psychic Focus

Post  Gulsnick on Mon May 26, 2014 11:02 pm

Roland wrote:Take an unmarked sorceror, done

doesn't work for Demon princes though Sad

Gulsnick
Crusader

Posts : 281
Join date : 2008-03-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Psychic Focus

Post  Gulsnick on Mon May 26, 2014 11:04 pm

Roland wrote:Take an unmarked sorceror, done

it would also help 1 k sons units since they have to take a stupid uselees power as it is now

Gulsnick
Crusader

Posts : 281
Join date : 2008-03-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Psychic Focus

Post  Roland on Mon May 26, 2014 11:49 pm

Gulsnick wrote:
Roland wrote:Take an unmarked sorceror, done

doesn't work for Demon princes though Sad

Price of freedom.

I'm working strictly on CSM here, cuz Daemon wise, I'm a Khorney kind of guy.

If you take a Mark, its a moot point. You have to generate at least one power from the Marked discipline, hence you can't take all book powers. But you can only take 1/2 max from your discipline, so unless you are ML1, they won't all be from a single discipline. This is the obvious reason they put the Chaos Psychic Focus rule in in the first place.

Daemons work the same. You'd need a daemon psyker without a mark. (Belakor?)

This all seems pretty reasonable to me.


_________________
Habes obdura si ista sis nugax - family proverb

Roland
Lord of Titan

Posts : 3544
Join date : 2011-01-26
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Psychic Focus

Post  Planes on Tue May 27, 2014 12:14 am

And Belakor would already have his primaris anyway from knowing all of that discipline.

_________________
I use every part of the Space Buffalo.

Planes
Lord of Titan

Posts : 3145
Join date : 2011-11-27
Location : Mai'laun

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Psychic Focus

Post  Rhaevyn on Tue May 27, 2014 1:10 am

can always trade for a primaris you want. csm doesn't get screwed per se.
they get the same number of spells as non-chaos. they just get forced into certain spells.

I'm not as upset as i was before Razz

_________________
There is no 'overkill.' There is only 'open fire' and 'time to reload.'

Rhaevyn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2465
Join date : 2011-08-19
Age : 38
Location : Mike Bidyk

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Psychic Focus

Post  Gulsnick on Tue May 27, 2014 11:53 am

it realy depends what generate means

option a
mark causes you to generate the primaris power of the god , then it counts towards the " have to generate 1 power rule", but then you don't get the primaris power for generating all your powers from one list bonus.

option b
you just get the CSM primaris power witch does not count towards the " have to generate 1 power rule", but you then get the primaris power from a discipline if you generate all powers from the discipline .

ps: after rereading it i think it works like option a

Gulsnick
Crusader

Posts : 281
Join date : 2008-03-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Psychic Focus

Post  Lore Weaver on Tue May 27, 2014 11:59 am

I like option c

You roll on the table of your god to generate powers as required (1 or 2), you get the primaris for free. You may then roll on other trees as normal.

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Psychic Focus

Post  Gulsnick on Tue May 27, 2014 12:19 pm

Lore Weaver wrote:I like option c

You roll on the table of your god to generate powers as required (1 or 2), you get the primaris for free.  You may then roll on other trees as normal.

well i don't think that option is in question Smile, you just wouldn't get the free "non CSM" primaris power Smile

Gulsnick
Crusader

Posts : 281
Join date : 2008-03-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Psychic Focus

Post  GingerBalls on Tue May 27, 2014 1:53 pm

I read that as "marekd daemons can't use the focus rule" so no primaris powers other than your own mark's. Correct?

GingerBalls
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1106
Join date : 2010-12-06

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Psychic Focus

Post  Lore Weaver on Tue May 27, 2014 1:58 pm

I think, if you're marked, option C is your only option.

(Ian, you can still swap for the primaris, just don't auto get it if you roll on more than one discipline)

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Psychic Focus

Post  GingerBalls on Tue May 27, 2014 2:02 pm

Lore Weaver wrote:I think, if you're marked, option C is your only option.

(Ian, you can still swap for the primaris, just don't auto get it if you roll on more than one discipline)

So marked daemons cannot have two primaris powers?

GingerBalls
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1106
Join date : 2010-12-06

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Psychic Focus

Post  Planes on Tue May 27, 2014 2:08 pm

They can, they just don't get the second for free.

Ie: a daemon of tzeentch rolls on divination, gets Perfect Timing, and swaps it for Prescience. Because it's a daemon of tzeentch, it automatically gets the tzentch primaris. As a result, it has two primaris powers, but nothing else.

_________________
I use every part of the Space Buffalo.

Planes
Lord of Titan

Posts : 3145
Join date : 2011-11-27
Location : Mai'laun

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Psychic Focus

Post  GingerBalls on Tue May 27, 2014 2:09 pm

Ok, so basically marked daemons can't benefit from psychic focus. Got it.

GingerBalls
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1106
Join date : 2010-12-06

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Psychic Focus

Post  Lore Weaver on Tue May 27, 2014 2:09 pm

They get their god's primaris for free, then if they roll on another table, they can swap for the primaris.

Eg: Daemon Prince of Tzeentch from CSM, gets Tzeentch's Firestorm for free, rolls on Tzeentch, gets Doombolt, rolls on Biomancy, trades Haemorragh for Smite, rolls on Biomancy, keeps Life Leech.

Flies around blowing up the universe.

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Psychic Focus

Post  Planes on Tue May 27, 2014 2:13 pm

Lore Weaver wrote:They get their god's primaris for free, then if they roll on another table, they can swap for the primaris.

Eg: Daemon Prince of Tzeentch from CSM, gets Tzeentch's Firestorm for free, rolls on Tzeentch, gets Doombolt, rolls on Biomancy, trades Haemorragh for Smite, rolls on Biomancy, keeps Life Leech.

Flies around blowing up the universe.

You're on a roll for ignoring posts today, Mark!

Planes wrote:They can, they just don't get the second for free.

Ie: a daemon of tzeentch rolls on divination, gets Perfect Timing, and swaps it for Prescience. Because it's a daemon of tzeentch, it automatically gets the tzentch primaris. As a result, it has two primaris powers, but nothing else.

_________________
I use every part of the Space Buffalo.

Planes
Lord of Titan

Posts : 3145
Join date : 2011-11-27
Location : Mai'laun

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Psychic Focus

Post  Gulsnick on Tue May 27, 2014 3:44 pm

Lore Weaver wrote:I think, if you're marked, option C is your only option.

(Ian, you can still swap for the primaris, just don't auto get it if you roll on more than one discipline)

yeah i think you are right Sad.

unmarked for me Smile

Gulsnick
Crusader

Posts : 281
Join date : 2008-03-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Psychic Focus

Post  dusktiger on Tue May 27, 2014 9:58 pm

the BRB states that marked demons/sorcerers automatically gain their demon mark's primaris power. 
pink horrors are ML1. 
the same page that says the chaos psychic focus description, states the psyker knows a number of psychic powers equal to his mastery level.
therefore, pink horrors should only be able to know the Tzeentch Primaris power.  should they not?

i mean if they have to automatically take the primaris....they cant roll for anything else, because they've just learned their cap of learn-able powers.  so they cant roll for any of the daemonology powers, like Summoning, Sacrifice, Incursion, or Possession.

dusktiger
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2306
Join date : 2010-11-12
Age : 31
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile http://dusktigers-den.blogspot.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Psychic Focus

Post  Aegwymourn on Tue May 27, 2014 10:01 pm

dusktiger wrote:the BRB states that marked demons/sorcerers automatically gain their demon mark's primaris power. 
pink horrors are ML1. 
the same page that says the chaos psychic focus description, states the psyker knows a number of psychic powers equal to his mastery level.
therefore, pink horrors should only be able to know the Tzeentch Primaris power.  should they not?

i mean if they have to automatically take the primaris....they cant roll for anything else, because they've just learned their cap of learn-able powers.  so they cant roll for any of the daemonology powers, like Summoning, Sacrifice, Incursion, or Possession.

it is in addition to any powers they know. basically they don't get the "free" primaris for focus because they already got a "free" one from their deity specific table.

Aegwymourn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2531
Join date : 2012-07-01
Location : Rosetown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Psychic Focus

Post  dusktiger on Tue May 27, 2014 10:03 pm

i dunno; they bold that same line themselves in the BRB.  i would think the horrors aren't meant to be able to roll for any powers; they just automatically get the Tzeentch primaris.

dusktiger
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2306
Join date : 2010-11-12
Age : 31
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile http://dusktigers-den.blogspot.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Psychic Focus

Post  Aegwymourn on Tue May 27, 2014 10:17 pm

dusktiger wrote:i dunno; they bold that same line themselves in the BRB.  i would think the horrors aren't meant to be able to roll for any powers; they just automatically get the Tzeentch primaris.

"If a Psyker has a Mark of Chaos or is a Daemon of a particular Chaos God (see Codex: Chaos Space marines or Codex: Chaos Daemons), that model automatically knows the primaris power of the discipline that corresponds to their patron deity, in addition to any other powers it knows." (emphasis mine)

That last line indicates to me the following.

1) All marked/demon psykers automatically know the correct primaris.

2) They generate the rest of the powers as normal. (since horrors are ML1 they would generate another power which can be from any table they have access to).

3) Since they have the primaris power from their patron table they cannot benefit from focus on it, nor can they benefit from focus on another table because they have the primaris from the patron table already.

Aegwymourn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2531
Join date : 2012-07-01
Location : Rosetown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Psychic Focus

Post  Sponsored content Today at 4:57 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum