Infiltrating

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Infiltrating

Post  Matthew G on Wed Apr 02, 2014 11:27 am

Hey guys, need someone with BRB access or just knows the proper way its done.

I am wanting to bring Cypher into one of my Blood Angel lists coming up just for shits, and I am reading that Indep. Characters that have infiltrate cannot make a unit infiltrate, even though the rule says its passed on.

Basically what I've been reading on the interwebz is that a unit with infiltrate will NOT pass it onto a character in their unit that does not have it.
but
The rule says that a character that has it passes it to his squad. The internet (back from June of last year) says that a character is not deployed with the unit as the unit is not being held in reserve (it deploys last as a special step in deployment - not held in reserve).
Then there are posts on posts on posts of people agreeing/disagreeing with the whole premise which makes me wonder what IS actually true, and how do we as a league treat this issue.

So... If I take the cypher slate, and he has the rule of Infiltrate. If I choose to "deploy" him with a squad of mine that does not have infiltrate, will my squad then be able to infiltrate as they deploy last in the special infiltration deployment step, etc etc.

Sorry if my post is confusing.... I'm confused... lol.


Matthew G
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1083
Join date : 2008-06-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Infiltrating

Post  Lore Weaver on Wed Apr 02, 2014 12:16 pm

Most people play it that the independent character can join the unit, then they can infiltrate it.

I waffle back-and-forth. Right now, I'm in the camp of "go ahead".

RAW, you can't. But RAW means that the Ravenwing dude is severely busticated soo....

Ya, go nuts! Drag along your dudes.

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Infiltrating

Post  ShadowDisco on Fri May 16, 2014 11:38 am

Well I take it the same as SW with the saga of the hunter the unit he joins will infiltrate scout and get the cover save.

Btw who is cypher? And how is acquainted with BA?

ShadowDisco
Crusader

Posts : 210
Join date : 2013-03-11
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Infiltrating

Post  Matthew G on Fri May 16, 2014 12:10 pm

ShadowDisco wrote:Well I take it the same as SW with the saga of the hunter the unit he joins will infiltrate scout and get the cover save.  

Btw who is cypher? And how is acquainted with BA?

Cypher is a dataslate.
He's a single dude who used to be part of the Dark Angels chapter.
I think he used to be from the 3e chaos rulebook, but then disappeared after that.

He likes to drop in on people from time to time to mess up their plans or to further his own. Look up the Dataslate if you want to know more of his fluff.

Matthew G
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1083
Join date : 2008-06-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Infiltrating

Post  System Commander on Fri May 16, 2014 12:48 pm

I agree that he has it and gives it to the unit before game.. otherwise it sems really goofy. Same as Huron/Ahriman.

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4689
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Infiltrating

Post  Paz on Fri May 16, 2014 2:48 pm

Yeah, I say he gives it to them as well, and deploys with them. I've always played it that way, and nobody has argued it with me.

Paz
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2709
Join date : 2008-03-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Infiltrating

Post  judchic on Fri May 16, 2014 3:35 pm

the argument is that while he gives infiltrate to his unit you have to place the unit down then he joins it. so in theory he can't infiltrate them because they don't have it as well. which is stupid.
i was going to say this argument should be paused for next week but i'm guessing this relates to the league finals huh?

judchic
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1050
Join date : 2008-10-20
Age : 29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Infiltrating

Post  Lore Weaver on Fri May 16, 2014 3:52 pm

No Dataslates for league finals (right Robyn?)

So Cypher's not allowed.

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Infiltrating

Post  System Commander on Fri May 16, 2014 5:35 pm

Not for playoff games, thats right.

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4689
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Infiltrating

Post  Roland on Fri May 16, 2014 7:13 pm

He said it was for a just for giggles game.

_________________
Habes obdura si ista sis nugax - family proverb

Roland
Lord of Titan

Posts : 3544
Join date : 2011-01-26
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Infiltrating

Post  System Commander on Fri May 16, 2014 8:28 pm

The game of giggles.. and the game of shits are much different games. With young kids.. you should know this well!

No one wins in the game of shits.

Yeah.. i wasnt sure if we was gonna add him just for shits in the playoff game.. or just for shits in another game. Either/or.. now we all know.

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4689
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Infiltrating

Post  Sponsored content Today at 7:19 pm


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum