Reserve Psykers and powers

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Reserve Psykers and powers

Post  Aegwymourn on Sat Aug 10, 2013 1:42 pm

As if the rules were not already fairly obtuse about how psykers work when you come in from reserves the following quote was mentioned as a reason why a psyker cannot cast the turn he arrives from reserves: "A Psyker automatically generates his full allocation of Warp Charge points at the start of each turn" (pg 115 of the e-book).

makes me glad Tau still don't have psykers Razz

Aegwymourn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2530
Join date : 2012-07-01
Location : Rosetown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Reserve Psykers and powers

Post  Darksfear on Sat Aug 10, 2013 7:04 pm

That's a curious conundrum, though the fact is reserves also happen at the start of the turn (not at the start of the movement phase) and I have not been able to find any turn order listings in the base rulebook that says which one of them happens first. If the player gets to choose then he will probably choose to have his reserves happen first, and then can generate his psychic powers after.

The book does note at the end of reserves that a player cannot use any special rules or abilities at the start of turn when that unit is coming in from reserves but generating psychic charges don't really fall into either of those categories, and the odd wording of generating psychic charges saying the it just happens automatically without the player having to do anything implies you are not "using" a rule anyways.

Darksfear
Crusader

Posts : 232
Join date : 2010-12-06

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Reserve Psykers and powers

Post  Guest on Sun Aug 11, 2013 4:20 pm

wait, So, you cannot enter from reserve and cast powers?

I was under the impression that you could.

Question 1) If Unit A enters from reserve, can Unit A cast powers that go off at the start of that turn?

Quesition 2) If Unit A enters from reserve, can Unit B (already in play) cast powers that go off at the start of turn on Unit A?

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Reserve Psykers and powers

Post  Darksfear on Sun Aug 11, 2013 6:28 pm

The problem isn't the casting of powers, most of which go off at the start of the movement phase not the start of turn. By the rules you can cast these just fine, except that what Aegwymourn was pointing out was that people are saying that you don't get your warp charges to cast your psychic powers. That's the part that's strange and ambiguous considering that reserves and the refreshing of warp charges seem to happen at the same time.

Darksfear
Crusader

Posts : 232
Join date : 2010-12-06

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Reserve Psykers and powers

Post  judchic on Sun Aug 11, 2013 6:52 pm

doesn't it say somewhere that if two things happen at the same time the players who's turn it is gets to decide which happens first?

judchic
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1050
Join date : 2008-10-20
Age : 29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Reserve Psykers and powers

Post  Aegwymourn on Sun Aug 11, 2013 8:43 pm

Well what I think the argument boils down to (not that I agree with it mind you) is that when a psyker would generate his warp charge he is not on the table to gain them. I think. So since he isn't on the board till after "the start of the turn" he wouldn't have any warp charges. I dunno, I just thought it was an interesting point. Again, I don't really understand pskers in 6th since I don't run any, and if I did I wouldn't reserve them, lol.

Aegwymourn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2530
Join date : 2012-07-01
Location : Rosetown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Reserve Psykers and powers

Post  Lore Weaver on Sun Aug 11, 2013 8:45 pm

A unit cannot cast powers the turn it comes into play, as you have to move to come into play.

However, because of a recent FAQ, there's a temporary loophole you can use for a psyker that was already on the board at the start of the turn to cast powers on someone that just entered play. I suspect this will be FAQ'd again in the future.

So, a Farseer that comes on from the board edge cannot cast blessings or maledictions that turn (but can cast witchfires, as normal). If a unit of Warpsiders deepstrikes onto the board, a Farseer that was already in play at the beginning of the turn can guide them (until FAQ'd). Clear as mud?

This is the relevant FAQ. People are saying, because the roll happens first, that the deep-strike happens immediately.

---

Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement
phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves
rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68)
A: They do occursimultaneously – as such, the player whose
turn it is decides in what orderthese things occur as per
page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Reserve Psykers and powers

Post  Aegwymourn on Sun Aug 11, 2013 8:52 pm

You people and your psykers. Obviously you just need to stop playing with them Razz

Aegwymourn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2530
Join date : 2012-07-01
Location : Rosetown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Reserve Psykers and powers

Post  Lore Weaver on Sun Aug 11, 2013 8:56 pm

Aegwymourn wrote:You people and your psykers. Obviously you just need to stop playing with them Razz
You should see what I'm settling on for Astronomicon. Not a Psyker in sight! (although I keep going back to CSM lists with Daemon allies!)

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Reserve Psykers and powers

Post  Sponsored content Today at 1:16 pm


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum