Ok so a question about rules now

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Ok so a question about rules now

Post  Deadlytoaster on Sun Jun 16, 2013 12:29 pm

In the Eldar Codex, the warp jump generator says the unit is jetpack infantry. It then goes to say it can EITHER choose to move as jetpack infantry or make a warp jump.

My question is if you make a warp jump, do you give up being jetpack infantry for one turn? (losing the ability to move 2d6 in the assault phase), or keep it? I lean more towards the loss of movement in the assault phase because of the word EITHER added in there. And moving in the assault phase in the main rulebook is classed as a "move".

It also makes sense from a game perspective as its a "reshuffling" of your total move (getting your 2d6 in the move phase as well as your 6") then your run because thats common to all infantry not just jetpack ones. The idea being if you needed a bigger jump to get in range with those 12" death spinners, but you lose your chance to move away/ move away as far.  

What's your guys' input because im really not sure. Is it a utility feature that gets used in certain circumstances? Or do you still get your 2d6 in the assault even after making a warp jump and thusly being better than sliced bread, the fork, and french fries all at the same time?

_________________


"We bring only Death and leave only Carrion, it is a message even a human can understand"
-Reqhiel of the Sons of Fuegan

Deadlytoaster
Inquisitor

Posts : 502
Join date : 2012-06-27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ok so a question about rules now

Post  Guest on Sun Jun 16, 2013 12:41 pm

I see it as you can grab your 2d6" extra at the normal time, or lose that to use it now (but 1/6 chance of losing a dude)

So not both

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Ok so a question about rules now

Post  Lore Weaver on Sun Jun 16, 2013 1:10 pm

I read it the other way.  Instead of moving 6" and ignoring terrain, they get 2d6"+6". Then they're back to normal.

You might want to move normally to not lose a dude.

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ok so a question about rules now

Post  Deadlytoaster on Sun Jun 16, 2013 2:09 pm

hmmm i think this one needs a FAQ.

_________________


"We bring only Death and leave only Carrion, it is a message even a human can understand"
-Reqhiel of the Sons of Fuegan

Deadlytoaster
Inquisitor

Posts : 502
Join date : 2012-06-27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ok so a question about rules now

Post  Guest on Sun Jun 16, 2013 5:44 pm

Just re-read it,

It says that in the movement phase, not each turn or something that would indicate a longer duration than the movement phase.

As such I think they actually would maintain their ability to move as jet-pack guys in assault phase.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Ok so a question about rules now

Post  miv305 on Sun Jun 16, 2013 7:45 pm

Keep in mind that if you read it as either or you'd lose Relentless and the other benefits to being Jet Pack Infantry.  I think it's pretty clear that the choice only effects how the unit behaves in the movement phase.

miv305
Crusader

Posts : 299
Join date : 2008-05-16

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ok so a question about rules now

Post  Aegwymourn on Sun Jun 16, 2013 9:27 pm

I think the key portion of the rule is "In the movement phase,....". I understand it that you can choose to instead of moving your standard 6" you can warp jump while still counting as jet pack infantry for all other phases.

Aegwymourn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2528
Join date : 2012-07-01
Location : Rosetown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ok so a question about rules now

Post  Rhaevyn on Sun Jun 16, 2013 10:44 pm

I would assume that this is the intent.

if they lost the ability to do a jump pack charge, then the warp ability would just be a risky jump move without much gain.

_________________
There is no 'overkill.' There is only 'open fire' and 'time to reload.'

Rhaevyn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2465
Join date : 2011-08-19
Age : 37
Location : Mike Bidyk

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Ok so a question about rules now

Post  Sponsored content Today at 8:55 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum