Beam Powers

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Beam Powers

Post  Lore Weaver on Fri Nov 23, 2012 10:44 am

Soo...

Beam Powers, you don't need to roll to hit, but each *unit* hit gets a single deny-the-witch roll. It's kinda like an inverse roll-to-hit.

Am I reading this right?

For Nova powers, this would mean that each unit hit by the Nova power would get a deny-the-witch roll.

This makes Doombolt and Molten Beam kinda good, right? S8AP1 18" long beam that doesn't roll to hit, and vehicles only can ever get a 6+ deny-the-witch roll. (unless there's a Gloom Prism or Psychic Hood nearby)

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Beam Powers

Post  Aegwymourn on Fri Nov 23, 2012 10:46 am

Sounds correct to me.

Aegwymourn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2531
Join date : 2012-07-01
Location : Rosetown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Beam Powers

Post  Guest on Fri Nov 23, 2012 10:55 am

sounds right,

I like new bolt of tzeentch/doombolt

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Beam Powers

Post  Lore Weaver on Fri Nov 23, 2012 11:11 am

canadin wrote:sounds right,

I like new bolt of tzeentch/doombolt

I didn't appreciate it until I blew up Thiessen's Razorback with it and got an 8" explosion radius, killing 2 marines. Of course, Thiessen still won :-) *laughs*

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Beam Powers

Post  Planes on Fri Nov 23, 2012 11:45 am

If I remember right, though, for each thing a beam hits it's str goes down by one, including sight blocking terrain. So you hit a dude at Str 8, hit a ruin at Str 7 (doing nothing, as it's a ruin), hit the next two guys at Str 6 and 5 respectively, and then clip a Dread at Str 4 at the end of your range. It is nice that the beam gets to keep going, but it's certainly no Death Ray.

_________________
I use every part of the Space Buffalo.

Planes
Lord of Titan

Posts : 3145
Join date : 2011-11-27
Location : Mai'laun

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Beam Powers

Post  Lore Weaver on Fri Nov 23, 2012 12:08 pm

Planes wrote:If I remember right, though, for each thing a beam hits it's str goes down by one, including sight blocking terrain. So you hit a dude at Str 8, hit a ruin at Str 7 (doing nothing, as it's a ruin), hit the next two guys at Str 6 and 5 respectively, and then clip a Dread at Str 4 at the end of your range. It is nice that the beam gets to keep going, but it's certainly no Death Ray.

That's true. I'll have to review, but I don't think it looses strength for a forest, just buildings with AV. ?

Tactically, a S8 AP1 beam should be able to draw a line to a vehicle first, if it so chose, unless dude's bubble-wrapping it. I need about 10 or so games to really play this out.

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Beam Powers

Post  judchic on Fri Nov 23, 2012 12:15 pm

Q: If the Blood Lance or Jaws of the World Wolf psychic power (or any beam power for that matter) passes through more than one enemy unit, does my opponent get to make a Deny the Witch roll for each unit affected? (p69)
A: No. The first unit affected by the psychic power can attempt to Deny the Witch, but if that test is failed, every enemy unit is affected as normal.

Main rulebook FAQ.

judchic
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1050
Join date : 2008-10-20
Age : 29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Beam Powers

Post  UglyDuckling on Fri Nov 23, 2012 12:17 pm

No book in front of me but I believe it says somewhere in the BRB that vehicles do not get to deny the witch.

UglyDuckling
Servitor

Posts : 21
Join date : 2012-10-23

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Beam Powers

Post  Lore Weaver on Fri Nov 23, 2012 12:31 pm

judchic wrote:Q: If the Blood Lance or Jaws of the World Wolf psychic power (or any beam power for that matter) passes through more than one enemy unit, does my opponent get to make a Deny the Witch roll for each unit affected? (p69)
A: No. The first unit affected by the psychic power can attempt to Deny the Witch, but if that test is failed, every enemy unit is affected as normal.

Main rulebook FAQ.

Good catch Jessie.

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Beam Powers

Post  Lore Weaver on Fri Nov 23, 2012 12:33 pm

UglyDuckling wrote:No book in front of me but I believe it says somewhere in the BRB that vehicles do not get to deny the witch.

I can't find any mention of this in the base rule book.

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Beam Powers

Post  Sponsored content Today at 10:22 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum