Abaddon

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Abaddon

Post  System Commander on Wed Oct 03, 2012 3:24 pm

So.. He has two different weapons.. Ones a daemon weapon.

So.. Lets say he chooses to make 1 attack with the sword and 3 with the talon. Does that mean he gets the extra d6 with the sword now?

I think so.. But seems a bit odd. Per the rules it seems right. I should look through the big rulebook to make sure you can still split attacks though.

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4689
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Abaddon

Post  Rhaevyn on Wed Oct 03, 2012 3:31 pm

models with more than one weapon need to choose which weapon they attack with. pg 51 BYB.

i believe there is a special character somewhere that can choose between his weapons and attack with them as needed. (IG char maybe?) But that person is not abbadon.

_________________
There is no 'overkill.' There is only 'open fire' and 'time to reload.'

Rhaevyn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2465
Join date : 2011-08-19
Age : 38
Location : Mike Bidyk

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Abaddon

Post  System Commander on Wed Oct 03, 2012 3:53 pm

Aha.. There it is. Good to know, thanks. He does get a bonus attack though for having two.

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4689
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

question

Post  stealth992 on Tue Oct 30, 2012 8:37 pm

When Abaddon rolls a 1 for his demon weapon, does he get any attacks? Or does he get no attacks and takes a wound/1 weapon skill?

stealth992
Sage

Posts : 60
Join date : 2009-05-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Abaddon

Post  Aegwymourn on Tue Oct 30, 2012 9:04 pm

Rhaevyn wrote:models with more than one weapon need to choose which weapon they attack with. pg 51 BYB.

i believe there is a special character somewhere that can choose between his weapons and attack with them as needed. (IG char maybe?) But that person is not abbadon.

Logan grimnar could. Split as frost weapon or power fist. Don't know in the new codex though.

Aegwymourn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2530
Join date : 2012-07-01
Location : Rosetown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Abaddon

Post  System Commander on Tue Oct 30, 2012 9:32 pm

5th edition you coold mix/match attacks however you wanted without question.

In 6th you can only choose one weaoon.

Daemon weapons dont cause you to lose attacks anymore.. You always get your base plus a d6 bonus. Onlyif you roll a one do you have a chance to be attacked. .. But even then you still get your attacks.

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4689
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Abaddon

Post  judchic on Tue Oct 30, 2012 10:07 pm

i dont think you could in 5th either. logan grimnar had a specific rule that let him do it.
had abaddon vs a bike captain. 2 ones later i wasnt much further ahead than getting no attacks. hitting on 5s is crap.

judchic
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1050
Join date : 2008-10-20
Age : 29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Abaddon

Post  Aegwymourn on Tue Oct 30, 2012 10:29 pm

Logan Grimnar has The Axe of Morkai, which lets him use it as a frost blade or power fist, split as he chooses. Other than him I cannot think of any characters that allow you to split attacks between weapon types.

at home now so i double checked his rules =P

Aegwymourn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2530
Join date : 2012-07-01
Location : Rosetown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Abaddon

Post  gluvzer on Wed Oct 31, 2012 12:42 am

Robyn, you were never able to use both weapons in 5th. You had to pick one, unless special rules for a character.

_________________

gluvzer
Lord of Titan/Hero of ToonCon/Ayatollah of Rock n' Rolla
Lord of Titan/Hero of ToonCon/Ayatollah of Rock n' Rolla

Posts : 1428
Join date : 2008-03-11
Location : S'toon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Abaddon

Post  Roland on Wed Oct 31, 2012 8:25 am

I believe you could in 3rd or 4th. Abandon at one point made his attacks with the talon, and the daemon sword made attacks on its own, like a servo harness.

_________________
Habes obdura si ista sis nugax - family proverb

Roland
Lord of Titan

Posts : 3544
Join date : 2011-01-26
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Abaddon

Post  gluvzer on Wed Oct 31, 2012 10:09 am

I'm not so sure. I remember back in 3rd there were a people running characters with a power sword and a power fist and then having to choose which one they were using each round of combat. With the +1 attack for 2 close combat weapons of course!

An extra or extra attacks on its own makes sense.

_________________

gluvzer
Lord of Titan/Hero of ToonCon/Ayatollah of Rock n' Rolla
Lord of Titan/Hero of ToonCon/Ayatollah of Rock n' Rolla

Posts : 1428
Join date : 2008-03-11
Location : S'toon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Abaddon

Post  Rhaevyn on Tue Nov 27, 2012 11:18 am

What is the thoughts on poor lonely abbadon.

can he join marked units? the rules state that a special character cannot join a unit with a different mark. since he has all of the marks, that means that he cant join any units but undivided? or?

_________________
There is no 'overkill.' There is only 'open fire' and 'time to reload.'

Rhaevyn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2465
Join date : 2011-08-19
Age : 38
Location : Mike Bidyk

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Abaddon

Post  Lore Weaver on Tue Nov 27, 2012 11:43 am

I would argue that he can join any unit.

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Abaddon

Post  Planes on Tue Nov 27, 2012 11:54 am

Codex: Chaos Space Marines wrote:An Independent Character with a Mark of Chaos may not join a unit with a different Mark of Chaos

Semantics locks him out, due to RAW. If they had said "may only joint a unit with the same mark", he could join any, but the wording is an exclusive phrasing rather than inclusive. That being said, they may always FAQ him in the future.

_________________
I use every part of the Space Buffalo.

Planes
Lord of Titan

Posts : 3145
Join date : 2011-11-27
Location : Mai'laun

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Abaddon

Post  UglyDuckling on Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:01 pm

I'm torn on whether he can or cannot join units. From a fluff standpoint I think he should. He is the new warmaster after all. But from a competitive standpoint I wonder if they intentionally wrote him out of joining marked units. Abaddon with feel no pain is something I don't want to run into.

UglyDuckling
Servitor

Posts : 21
Join date : 2012-10-23

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Abaddon

Post  Rhaevyn on Fri Dec 28, 2012 10:39 am

is the reverse true for an undivided lord with no mark?

can he join a marked unit? since he has no mark, i would assume that there is no conflict?

_________________
There is no 'overkill.' There is only 'open fire' and 'time to reload.'

Rhaevyn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2465
Join date : 2011-08-19
Age : 38
Location : Mike Bidyk

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Abaddon

Post  Roland on Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:09 am

Rhaevyn wrote:is the reverse true for an undivided lord with no mark?

can he join a marked unit? since he has no mark, i would assume that there is no conflict?

Correct, he may join any unit.

_________________
Habes obdura si ista sis nugax - family proverb

Roland
Lord of Titan

Posts : 3544
Join date : 2011-01-26
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Abaddon

Post  Sponsored content Today at 4:50 pm


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum