Mixing Psyker Powers

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Mixing Psyker Powers

Post  Aegwymourn on Wed Sep 05, 2012 11:20 am

After having played a couple of games with people using psykers I have finally hit that portion of the rulebook and faqs and noticed something (neither of my armies {Tau/Black Templars} use psykers so I have just been trusting peopel). The way i read the faq and the rulebook it seems like you cannot mix and match codex and rulebook powers on the same psyker. I suppose it doesnt matter that much but I thought I would point it out.

Aegwymourn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2530
Join date : 2012-07-01
Location : Rosetown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Mixing Psyker Powers

Post  Lore Weaver on Wed Sep 05, 2012 11:24 am

That's right.

You either swap out all your Codex powers for BRB powers, or you have only your Codex powers.

With the BRB powers, you can mix across any of the domains you're allowed to choose from, like one Biomancy Power and one Telekinisis Power.

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Mixing Psyker Powers

Post  Aegwymourn on Wed Sep 05, 2012 11:48 am

Yuppers. Just thought I would point it out since the wording in the FAQs could be better/more clear.

Aegwymourn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2530
Join date : 2012-07-01
Location : Rosetown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Mixing Psyker Powers

Post  Rhaevyn on Wed Sep 05, 2012 6:54 pm

I know im guilty of this. But the way i read the word May...

Ill fish out my books when i get home and have a look.

_________________
There is no 'overkill.' There is only 'open fire' and 'time to reload.'

Rhaevyn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2465
Join date : 2011-08-19
Age : 38
Location : Mike Bidyk

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Mixing Psyker Powers

Post  Planes on Wed Sep 05, 2012 7:01 pm

The only way around this that I've ever seen is in the Grey Knights FAQ it says that you cannon swap out Hammer Hand.

_________________
I use every part of the Space Buffalo.

Planes
Lord of Titan

Posts : 3145
Join date : 2011-11-27
Location : Mai'laun

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Mixing Psyker Powers

Post  Rhaevyn on Wed Sep 05, 2012 7:14 pm

Just checked the csm faq and it appears that im a cheater to (though every bolt of change fizzled anyway)

I was sure that the second sentance had a May in it. But i am incorrect.

_________________
There is no 'overkill.' There is only 'open fire' and 'time to reload.'

Rhaevyn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2465
Join date : 2011-08-19
Age : 38
Location : Mike Bidyk

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Mixing Psyker Powers

Post  Aegwymourn on Wed Sep 05, 2012 7:21 pm

from the Eldar faq "... may use the psychic disciplines found in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook, instead of those in Codex: Eldar. If he does so, for each power he has purchased from Codex: Eldar, generate a new power from either Divination or Telepathy discipline (in any combination) before armies are deployed."

from the Chaos SM faq "any model with psychich power may use the psychich disciplines found in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook, instead of those in Codex: Chaos Space Marines. If he does so, for each psychic power he has purchased from Codex: Chaos Space Marines, generate a new power from the Pyromancy, Telekinesis or Telepathy discipline before armies are deployed. A model can generate powers from different disciplines if you wish"

To me this says instead of using your normal powers you can swap all of them. If you read further for each character with power is specifies how many of the new book powers they would get (eldrad gets 4) to further back this up.

Not trying to start a fight or anything just something I read the other day I thought should be clarified.

Aegwymourn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2530
Join date : 2012-07-01
Location : Rosetown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Mixing Psyker Powers

Post  Aegwymourn on Wed Sep 05, 2012 7:23 pm

Rhaevyn wrote:Just checked the csm faq and it appears that im a cheater to (though every bolt of change fizzled anyway)

I was sure that the second sentance had a May in it. But i am incorrect.

lol dont worry about it. like you said its not like it mattered, but i was looking at Eldar stuff the other night and noticed it. not to mention your demon prince managed to hurt himself the one phase, lol. My one friend really hopes they bring back the Tzeentch models not having to take psychic tests like they used to. especially that its now one wound with no save.

Aegwymourn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2530
Join date : 2012-07-01
Location : Rosetown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Mixing Psyker Powers

Post  Sponsored content Today at 4:46 pm


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum