Nightfight

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Nightfight

Post  Lore Weaver on Wed Sep 05, 2012 8:46 am

After many a game with people telling me one thing and others telling me another.... I looked it up.

In night fight games, you get STEALTH when 12-24" away. You get shrouding when 24-32" away. You do not get both.

If you have both, they would stack, but night fight doesn't ever grant you both. Ever.

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Nightfight

Post  dusktiger on Wed Sep 05, 2012 9:08 am

that's right, they dont stack. its the stealth from a unit that will stack with those, such as scout camo cloaks.

_________________

dusktiger
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2306
Join date : 2010-11-12
Age : 31
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile http://dusktigers-den.blogspot.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Nightfight

Post  Planes on Wed Sep 05, 2012 9:15 am

Yeah, Camo-cloaks, Stealth Suits, and the Nemesor telling a unit "you're sneaky this turn" would all stack with shroud from being in the 24-36" bracket. Both stealth and shroud also stack with Jink, as Jink is a 5+ cover save.

_________________
I use every part of the Space Buffalo.

Planes
Lord of Titan

Posts : 3145
Join date : 2011-11-27
Location : Mai'laun

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Nightfight

Post  System Commander on Wed Sep 05, 2012 10:02 am

Do cloaks gove stealth or +1 to stealth. If they give stealth then it wouldnt stack.

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4689
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Nightfight

Post  Lore Weaver on Wed Sep 05, 2012 10:16 am

System Commander wrote:Do cloaks gove stealth or +1 to stealth. If they give stealth then it wouldnt stack.

It'd stack with Shrouding but not Stealth.

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Nightfight

Post  System Commander on Wed Sep 05, 2012 10:36 am

Yeah.. Exactly. I know stealth and shrouding stack.. And night can only have one or the other in effect.

I just cant remember though if cloaks give +1 to cover saves or just give the stealth rule. I dont think ive ever used a unit with camo cloaks

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4689
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Nightfight

Post  dusktiger on Wed Sep 05, 2012 11:24 am

this is from the newest digital copy of C:SM: Camo Cloaks - a model wearing a camo cloak has +1 cover save.

so cloaks stack with everything. i think the paperback copy said they confer stealth, but since the digital copy is newer and has all the current FAQ updates applied to it, it's just a straight +1 to any existing cover.

_________________

dusktiger
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2306
Join date : 2010-11-12
Age : 31
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile http://dusktigers-den.blogspot.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Nightfight

Post  System Commander on Wed Sep 05, 2012 11:27 am

Ah ha. Gotcha.. Good to know. So when night fight is in effect.. And they are 24-36 away.. Scouts get +3 to their cover save.i.. Which is pretty great.

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4689
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Nightfight

Post  Lore Weaver on Wed Sep 05, 2012 11:34 am

4+ cover save in the open. 5+ due to shrouding, then the cloak bonus to 4+. If they're in cover, this would bump it up to 2+

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Nightfight

Post  System Commander on Wed Sep 05, 2012 11:40 am

And then the next question. Do scouts inherently have the stealth rule and camo cloaks. If thats the case theyre even better at the 24-36 range.. Getting 1 for stealth, 2 for.shrouding and the +1 camo cloak bonus.

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4689
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Nightfight

Post  Lore Weaver on Wed Sep 05, 2012 11:44 am

Looking at the FAQ, that's a "No" on the stealth.

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2420318a_Space_Marines_6th_Ed_V1.pdf

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Nightfight

Post  dusktiger on Wed Sep 05, 2012 3:17 pm

Scouts don't come with camo, we pay...3pts per model in the squad, I believe.

_________________

dusktiger
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2306
Join date : 2010-11-12
Age : 31
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile http://dusktigers-den.blogspot.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Nightfight

Post  Roland on Wed Sep 05, 2012 3:21 pm

Going by the new stuff.... Telion now has a camo cloak. Does he still confer Stealth on the squad (although now there is a reason to buy camo cloaks in Scout squads w/ Telion.)

_________________
Habes obdura si ista sis nugax - family proverb

Roland
Lord of Titan

Posts : 3544
Join date : 2011-01-26
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Nightfight

Post  dusktiger on Wed Sep 05, 2012 5:49 pm

I've been reading into that too beau; from what I gather reading through the book, and from the internets, it appears that 6th now operates on the premise that if an IC or special char has a USR, his squad benefits from it as well in turn. I think some of the newer codices are even worded now to show this is how it works too.

_________________

dusktiger
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2306
Join date : 2010-11-12
Age : 31
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile http://dusktigers-den.blogspot.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Nightfight

Post  Aegwymourn on Wed Sep 05, 2012 6:20 pm

i thought i remember reading something about a list or notice if a USR is conferable to IC from squads or from IC to squads. I think it is mentioned right before or after the USR section of the BRB.

Aegwymourn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2530
Join date : 2012-07-01
Location : Rosetown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Nightfight

Post  Rhaevyn on Wed Sep 05, 2012 6:57 pm

Each USR is different. If its conferred on the unit it will say

"a unit that contains at least one model with XXX may...."

_________________
There is no 'overkill.' There is only 'open fire' and 'time to reload.'

Rhaevyn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2465
Join date : 2011-08-19
Age : 38
Location : Mike Bidyk

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Nightfight

Post  Planes on Wed Sep 05, 2012 7:03 pm

There are also a few that say that they can't splash over to an IC that way, but I think an IC can confer it to a squad. I think Infiltrate and Outflank were big ones for that.

_________________
I use every part of the Space Buffalo.

Planes
Lord of Titan

Posts : 3145
Join date : 2011-11-27
Location : Mai'laun

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Nightfight

Post  Aegwymourn on Wed Sep 05, 2012 7:24 pm

its to bad someone couldnt just have taken 5 mins and made a table or anything >.>

Aegwymourn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2530
Join date : 2012-07-01
Location : Rosetown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Nightfight

Post  Roland on Wed Sep 05, 2012 9:49 pm

If any model in the unit has Stealth, the whole unit does. So Telion grants stealth....

camo cloaks don't give stealth, they give +1 to your cover save.

So your telion Sniper scouts with camo cloaks in 24"-36" away in cover during NF have... -4 to their cover save. (3+ in the open, 2+ if in cover of any sort)? Correct?

_________________
Habes obdura si ista sis nugax - family proverb

Roland
Lord of Titan

Posts : 3544
Join date : 2011-01-26
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Nightfight

Post  dusktiger on Wed Sep 05, 2012 10:01 pm

that sounds about right

_________________

dusktiger
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2306
Join date : 2010-11-12
Age : 31
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile http://dusktigers-den.blogspot.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Nightfight

Post  Sponsored content Today at 7:15 pm


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum