Rules you may have missed

Page 3 of 3 Previous  1, 2, 3

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Aegwymourn on Wed Aug 29, 2012 12:03 pm

Also with LOS determined from the gun barrel it is possible for the model itself to block line of sight (a big complaint with the bigger SM flyer with the assault cannon on the top of it? it ends up having a range of 18"-24" i think is the consensus at the moment).

Aegwymourn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2530
Join date : 2012-07-01
Location : Rosetown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Rhaevyn on Wed Aug 29, 2012 12:41 pm

45 degree cone is a fairly narrow field of view. its definitely much less than the 90 degree front arc that most vehicles get. i may have to make up a template for big fat cheaters to put at the front of their fliers, haha

_________________
There is no 'overkill.' There is only 'open fire' and 'time to reload.'

Rhaevyn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2465
Join date : 2011-08-19
Age : 38
Location : Mike Bidyk

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  System Commander on Wed Aug 29, 2012 12:51 pm

I think most hull mounted guns still have a 45 degree firing arc. Dreads, leman russ and chimera front heavy bolter/flamer, earthshaker.. Stuff luke that. I think they're still the same.. I could of missed something though.. I sure have alot latwly.. Smile

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4689
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Lore Weaver on Wed Aug 29, 2012 1:32 pm

Rhaevyn wrote:45 degree cone is a fairly narrow field of view. its definitely much less than the 90 degree front arc that most vehicles get. i may have to make up a template for big fat cheaters to put at the front of their fliers, haha

Like a Dog Cone, gotta stop the flyers from scratching the flees.

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Deadlytoaster on Wed Aug 29, 2012 6:07 pm

Huh, well some interesting points for sure will have to keep those in mind. Dont say cheating Mark, now we know and we were both agreed on the rules anyways, so its was a fair game Smile

_________________


"We bring only Death and leave only Carrion, it is a message even a human can understand"
-Reqhiel of the Sons of Fuegan

Deadlytoaster
Inquisitor

Posts : 502
Join date : 2012-06-27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Rhaevyn on Fri Aug 31, 2012 4:56 pm

This one is hotly debated. Rules currently allow you to split up an Aegis defense line into multiple segments.

Composition: Up to 4 Long and 4 Short Aegis Defense Line sections. Each Section of Aegis Defense Line must be placed in base contact with at least one other section.

pretty much tells me that you could have up to 4 different sections of line at different spots on the board. Granted you would be sacrificing side protection in some cases, but you could bridge gaps between pieces of terrain, for example, or have one main location and use a V of two long sections to protect the front two sides of another emplacement.

_________________
There is no 'overkill.' There is only 'open fire' and 'time to reload.'

Rhaevyn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2465
Join date : 2011-08-19
Age : 38
Location : Mike Bidyk

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Lord_Commander_Stash on Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:22 pm

Lore Weaver wrote:Soo.... I was listening to the Frontline Gaming podcast, they were talking about killing the flying circus lists by using board control. I was all like "what" then they explained it... and I had to look it up in the rules to believe it.

--
Models that physically fit under a Flyer model can move beneath
it. Likewise, a Flyer can end its move over such models. However,
when moving this way, enemy models must still remain 1" away
from the base of the Flyer, and the Flyer cannot end its move
with its base within l" of other enemy models.
--

What a Tyranid Player did was use 5 Tervigons and filled the board with 110 Termagaunts such that the flyers could not land. Therefore, they died.

---

Also, Guns from a Flyer shoot in a 45 Degree Cone. So I'm not allowed to put my Dakkajet 1" away from your dude and still shoot him (like I thought I could... I was thinking 45 Degree Arc from the "front") Needs to be about 3" away.

Even with all my big fat cheating, Brian still beat me 14-12. A fantastic 2000 pt Ork v Tau battle.


Zooming fliers CANT land within 1" of models but models moving as fast skimmers can push models out of the way so they have room to land...

Lord_Commander_Stash
Grandmaster

Posts : 476
Join date : 2008-03-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Lord_Commander_Stash on Fri Aug 31, 2012 7:03 pm

It seems that rapid fire weapons are no longer aftected by movement...you can move and shoot 24 with a bolter.

Lord_Commander_Stash
Grandmaster

Posts : 476
Join date : 2008-03-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  System Commander on Fri Aug 31, 2012 7:07 pm

Yeah.. Its fantastic. Ive been loving it with plasma guns. Coupled with the premeasuring.. Its sure damn handy

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4689
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Lord_Commander_Stash on Fri Aug 31, 2012 8:12 pm

Template weapons are no longer half strength against vehicles it seems...at least I havent found it yet.

Lord_Commander_Stash
Grandmaster

Posts : 476
Join date : 2008-03-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  System Commander on Fri Aug 31, 2012 8:46 pm

Nope.. They are not. Vindicators got a great boost as a result.. Plus that ap 2 is needed.

Ordnance barrage also takes casualties from the dot fiest.. So yeah.. You can sniper out characters from units with earthshaker . Bizarre

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4689
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Lord_Commander_Stash on Fri Aug 31, 2012 9:46 pm

System Commander wrote:Nope.. They are not. Vindicators got a great boost as a result.. Plus that ap 2 is needed.

Ordnance barrage also takes casualties from the dot fiest.. So yeah.. You can sniper out characters from units with earthshaker . Bizarre

Mortar combat!!!

Lord_Commander_Stash
Grandmaster

Posts : 476
Join date : 2008-03-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Lord_Commander_Stash on Fri Aug 31, 2012 10:08 pm

Infiltrators can bring their transports with them either infiltrating or outflanking. So if Alpha legion (I hope I got that right) ever gets rules again, they essentially just deploy 18" away from the enemy.

Lord_Commander_Stash
Grandmaster

Posts : 476
Join date : 2008-03-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Lore Weaver on Sat Sep 01, 2012 10:23 am

Lord_Commander_Stash wrote:Infiltrators can bring their transports with them either infiltrating or outflanking. So if Alpha legion (I hope I got that right) ever gets rules again, they essentially just deploy 18" away from the enemy.

And still can't assault on Turn 1.

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Aegwymourn on Sat Sep 01, 2012 1:16 pm

System Commander wrote:Nope.. They are not. Vindicators got a great boost as a result.. Plus that ap 2 is needed.

Ordnance barrage also takes casualties from the dot fiest.. So yeah.. You can sniper out characters from units with earthshaker . Bizarre

yea its been pointed out that the most inaccurate gun type is now the best at sniping models. irony is delicious.

Aegwymourn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2530
Join date : 2012-07-01
Location : Rosetown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Lord_Commander_Stash on Sat Sep 01, 2012 1:26 pm

Lore Weaver wrote:
Lord_Commander_Stash wrote:Infiltrators can bring their transports with them either infiltrating or outflanking. So if Alpha legion (I hope I got that right) ever gets rules again, they essentially just deploy 18" away from the enemy.

And still can't assault on Turn 1.

Yes but my point is they save a turn or two getting there.

Lord_Commander_Stash
Grandmaster

Posts : 476
Join date : 2008-03-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Sponsored content Today at 2:53 pm


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 3 of 3 Previous  1, 2, 3

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum