Rules you may have missed

Page 2 of 3 Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Aegwymourn on Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:20 pm

Lore Weaver wrote:For our inevitable re-match Tom, I can bring my Orks :-) Your Tau army would probably squash them! *laughs*

LOL. I have always wondered how Tau and Orks would fare in a grudge-match being mortal enemies (and almost direct opposites play style wise).

Aegwymourn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2531
Join date : 2012-07-01
Location : Rosetown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Guest on Tue Aug 21, 2012 9:59 am

Whereas my Orks are SupA FLash, REAL SHOOTY, and Invulnerable wit Force Feilds!!

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Lore Weaver on Tue Aug 21, 2012 10:30 am

I'm playing the 9 Kan army right now, so it's quite a bit different than what Adam's playing (3 Battlewagons w\ Burna Boyz?)

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Aegwymourn on Tue Aug 21, 2012 11:00 am

./thread derailed. go us!

either of those sound like fun games to play! alas with GW2 coming out this weekend i promised the wife that we could have "quality time" leveling up together. Very Happy

Aegwymourn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2531
Join date : 2012-07-01
Location : Rosetown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Guest on Tue Aug 21, 2012 5:51 pm

Hey Lore, Would you wanna have an Ork V Ork game sometime?

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  System Commander on Tue Aug 21, 2012 8:00 pm

Back on track ! Thunderdome for booking games.

Darn phone double posts stuff for some reason.. Ryan keeps on 3-4 copies of the same message from me.

Yeah... lame excuse. I am totally hammered..


Last edited by System Commander on Tue Aug 21, 2012 10:08 pm; edited 1 time in total

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4693
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

re rules missed

Post  Commander James of the Ul on Tue Aug 21, 2012 9:47 pm

they say your an alcoholic when you repeat yourself

Commander James of the Ul
Inquisitor

Posts : 518
Join date : 2009-11-20
Age : 35

View user profile

Back to top Go down

re rules missed

Post  Commander James of the Ul on Tue Aug 21, 2012 9:49 pm

they say your an alcoholic when you repeat yourself... lol

Commander James of the Ul
Inquisitor

Posts : 518
Join date : 2009-11-20
Age : 35

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Roland on Tue Aug 21, 2012 10:35 pm

You gotta good reason! high five/fist pumps!

_________________
Habes obdura si ista sis nugax - family proverb

Roland
Lord of Titan

Posts : 3544
Join date : 2011-01-26
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

re rules missed

Post  Commander James of the Ul on Tue Aug 21, 2012 11:20 pm

lol But on a more serious note flyers can shoot four weapons. Even if they have moved 36 inches. But they have abolished defensive weapons. Mindstrike missles on a GreyKnight Stormravon are useless. But in all honestly I am still going to make a GK air force list. Bring my boy Crowe, and fill the ravons up with purifiers. OOOOOOHHHHH ya.

Commander James of the Ul
Inquisitor

Posts : 518
Join date : 2009-11-20
Age : 35

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Guest on Wed Aug 22, 2012 10:15 am

3 flyers, 3 dreadnaughts with S8 autocannons, 2 units of purifyers, and Crowe.....

Soudns like a nice strike force

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Lore Weaver on Wed Aug 22, 2012 10:29 am

I was a big cheater vs Voth and probably someone else.

For Overwatch shots, you *do* measure range before shooting, you're not automatically within range. I think I got confused between the "Wall of Death" rule and regular overwatch.

If I've got a unit of grots with the closest 5 grots within 12" when some whyches charge, I only get 5 overwatch shots. If those were marines, 5 would get double-tap shots, while the remainder would only get one shot each.

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Lore Weaver on Wed Aug 22, 2012 10:36 am

Bombing Runs and Missiles.

---

A flyer can only shoot 2 missiles per turn, max, and they count towards a flyers 4 weapons.

If a Flyer (Like the burna-bomma) drops a bomb, that counts as one of the 4 weapons (it only scatters D6", not 2D6"), but their other weapons can fire at other targets.

A flyer that drops a bomb cannot move flat out in the following movement phase.

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Lore Weaver on Fri Aug 24, 2012 10:45 am

St. Celestine can use her ancient blade to perform a wall-of-death overwatch attack.

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2420317a_Sisters_of_Battle_6th_Ed_V1.pdf

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  System Commander on Fri Aug 24, 2012 10:51 am

I assumed deep strikng monstrous creatures could not be in swooping mode when they arrived.. No idea why i thought tht.. Must of just been as assuption.

But clearly pointed out in the rulebook you can decide which mode your in when arriving from reserve. Ill know for next time ! Smile

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4693
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Aegwymourn on Fri Aug 24, 2012 11:22 am

specifically for tau
- Advanced Stabilization System - The whole squad must take the upgrade. Didn't realize that.
- Iridium Armor - Reduces the Jetpack assault move to just d6"

I had a good one from the BRB last night but i have forgotten now >.<\

edit: remembered the BRB one, If you use a weapon with Interceptor to fire at the end of the enemy movement phase, you cannot fire during your turn. I missed that the first time i read the interceptor rule i just thought you got another "free" shot.

Aegwymourn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2531
Join date : 2012-07-01
Location : Rosetown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Guest on Fri Aug 24, 2012 6:01 pm

On the RELIC mession (#6 in BRB) only one MODEL is holding the relic. if that MODEL DIES it is dropped.

So a unit does not hold the relic to the last man.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Lore Weaver on Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 am

canadin wrote:On the RELIC mession (#6 in BRB) only one MODEL is holding the relic. if that MODEL DIES it is dropped.

So a unit does not hold the relic to the last man.

Important note, you have to be a scoring unit to pick up the relic.

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Deadlytoaster on Sun Aug 26, 2012 11:22 pm

Lore Weaver wrote:
canadin wrote:On the RELIC mession (#6 in BRB) only one MODEL is holding the relic. if that MODEL DIES it is dropped.

So a unit does not hold the relic to the last man.

Important note, you have to be a scoring unit to pick up the relic.

Nice catch Mark! definitely didnt realize that. Now it does say "a model in a scoring unit can pick up the relic" does that mean an Independent Character joined to a scoring unit could pick up the relic?

_________________


"We bring only Death and leave only Carrion, it is a message even a human can understand"
-Reqhiel of the Sons of Fuegan

Deadlytoaster
Inquisitor

Posts : 502
Join date : 2012-06-27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Aegwymourn on Mon Aug 27, 2012 7:53 am

Deadlytoaster wrote:
Lore Weaver wrote:
canadin wrote:On the RELIC mession (#6 in BRB) only one MODEL is holding the relic. if that MODEL DIES it is dropped.

So a unit does not hold the relic to the last man.

Important note, you have to be a scoring unit to pick up the relic.

Nice catch Mark! definitely didnt realize that. Now it does say "a model in a scoring unit can pick up the relic" does that mean an Independent Character joined to a scoring unit could pick up the relic?

I would have to go with RAW it doesn't say the model itself has to be scoring. Although I would think they intended that it be an actual scoring model. Although this could lead to some interesting game play, if you manage to kill the scoring unit would the independent character then have to drop it?

Aegwymourn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2531
Join date : 2012-07-01
Location : Rosetown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  System Commander on Mon Aug 27, 2012 9:46 am

I would have to assume its a model from a scoring unit. Wording would of helped better here as usual..

So.. My vote would be an model joined to a scoring unit cant pick it up.. Unless hes scoring for some reason.. Warlord trait.. Crazy necron dude.. Etc.

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4693
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Lore Weaver on Wed Aug 29, 2012 8:16 am

So, I had been doing this wrong, but Brian had shown me how to do this properly.

Damaging Vehicle Squadrons, like Kanz.

You allocated HITS one at a time until the closest vehicle dies.

For example, you roll to hit, say you hit 3 times with S7 shooting against 3 Kanz. The Kanz are in cover, so get a 5+ cover save.

You roll one die to see if you glance or pen, say your roll a 5 and penetrate. The Kan then gets his 5+ cover save, which he fails. You'd then roll on the damage table to see what you do. Then you resolve the next hit, say it glances and the Kan fails its save, it looses it's last hull point and dies. Then the third hit is resolved.

PG 77

What this prevents is me from putting the penetrating hits all on one Kan, potentially absorbing immobilized or weapon destroyed results. This still leaves squadrons of squishy vehicles more durable than 5th edition though.

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Aegwymourn on Wed Aug 29, 2012 10:18 am

Upside you can now leave immobilized members of a squadron and they become a separate unit i believe. Also Loreweave pointed out that open-topped vehicles provide a +1 bonus on the vehicle damage table. I had missed that the first time since its not mentioned on the actual vehicle damage table with the bonuses from ap2/1, but in the open-topped vehicle section...

Aegwymourn
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2531
Join date : 2012-07-01
Location : Rosetown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Lore Weaver on Wed Aug 29, 2012 10:43 am

Soo.... I was listening to the Frontline Gaming podcast, they were talking about killing the flying circus lists by using board control. I was all like "what" then they explained it... and I had to look it up in the rules to believe it.

--
Models that physically fit under a Flyer model can move beneath
it. Likewise, a Flyer can end its move over such models. However,
when moving this way, enemy models must still remain 1" away
from the base of the Flyer, and the Flyer cannot end its move
with its base within l" of other enemy models.
--

What a Tyranid Player did was use 5 Tervigons and filled the board with 110 Termagaunts such that the flyers could not land. Therefore, they died.

---

Also, Guns from a Flyer shoot in a 45 Degree Cone. So I'm not allowed to put my Dakkajet 1" away from your dude and still shoot him (like I thought I could... I was thinking 45 Degree Arc from the "front") Needs to be about 3" away.

Even with all my big fat cheating, Brian still beat me 14-12. A fantastic 2000 pt Ork v Tau battle.

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  System Commander on Wed Aug 29, 2012 11:51 am

45 degree cone.. That is good to know

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4693
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules you may have missed

Post  Sponsored content Today at 8:42 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 2 of 3 Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum