Thunderfires VS Necron Scarabs

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Thunderfires VS Necron Scarabs

Post  dusktiger on Tue Feb 28, 2012 8:37 pm

So, i have a question i was wondering on clarification on.

A Thunderfire Cannon fires at a unit of Necron Scarab bases.
Because of their rules, the scarabs treat each wound taken as 2 wounds, because they are vulnerable to templates.
They are also Toughness 3.
So far, i've always had the necron player hide his Scarabs in cover because of this, so I've utilized the Str 5 Airburst shell, which removes Cover Saves, making him take 2 wounds for every 1 i successfully cause.

My question regards to when he's 'not' in cover, and i use the Str 6 Surface detonation shell. That's a Double Toughness wound for Scarabs, which means Instant Death to a base; but if they're supposed to treat 1 wound as 2 because its a template weapon, does that mean TWO bases are removed? or just the one? Question Question Question scratch

_________________

dusktiger
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2306
Join date : 2010-11-12
Age : 31
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile http://dusktigers-den.blogspot.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Thunderfires VS Necron Scarabs

Post  Spamus Eatus on Tue Feb 28, 2012 8:43 pm

Yup, 2 bases are removed for each S6 wound taken. The wounds are doubled up, and then distributed. Since the distributed wounds ID the scarabs, splat.

Spamus Eatus
Inquisitor Lord

Posts : 779
Join date : 2008-05-09

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Thunderfires VS Necron Scarabs

Post  dusktiger on Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:19 pm

cool, that's what i was thinking would happen. lately all this multi-wound crap has been confusing me and i've been second guessing myself on how stuff would work. nice to see i guessed right.

_________________

dusktiger
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2306
Join date : 2010-11-12
Age : 31
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile http://dusktigers-den.blogspot.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Thunderfires VS Necron Scarabs

Post  Timbo on Wed Feb 29, 2012 1:05 am

Keep in mind the scarabs will only ever get a 5+ save versus the airburst, but if they go to ground they can get a 2+ cover save versus the normal round. But yeah, either way it's not good for the scarabs.

Timbo
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1177
Join date : 2009-01-26
Age : 46
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Thunderfires VS Necron Scarabs

Post  Sponsored content Today at 11:12 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum