Moving Flat-Out, Destroyed

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Moving Flat-Out, Destroyed

Post  Lore Weaver on Wed Dec 28, 2011 3:48 pm

Hey Guys,

Tyson had mentioned that if a vehicle is destroyed after it moves flat-out, the embarked troops die, but when I played Mike V, he mentioned that it only counts if the vehicle gets immobilized during my movement phase.

Which is it? Here's the relevant entry from the Rule Book Errata.

--


Q: If a transport vehicle is destroyed in the same turn as
it moved flat out what happens to any embarked
models? (p70)
A: They are removed as casualties

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Moving Flat-Out, Destroyed

Post  dusktiger on Wed Dec 28, 2011 7:37 pm

i believe tyson has it right; because storm ravens have that problem with losing the attached dreadnoughts the same way.

_________________

dusktiger
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2306
Join date : 2010-11-12
Age : 31
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile http://dusktigers-den.blogspot.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Moving Flat-Out, Destroyed

Post  miv305 on Wed Dec 28, 2011 9:28 pm

Anytime the rulebook states a turn it means player turn. It's from the latest FAQ.

miv305
Crusader

Posts : 299
Join date : 2008-05-16

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Moving Flat-Out, Destroyed

Post  gluvzer on Wed Dec 28, 2011 9:31 pm

Linky:
http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1830600a_40k_Rulebook_version_1_4.pdf

I'll have to agree with Mike V. on this one after reading both entries.

_________________

gluvzer
Lord of Titan/Hero of ToonCon/Ayatollah of Rock n' Rolla
Lord of Titan/Hero of ToonCon/Ayatollah of Rock n' Rolla

Posts : 1428
Join date : 2008-03-11
Location : S'toon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Moving Flat-Out, Destroyed

Post  System Commander on Wed Dec 28, 2011 10:02 pm

Yeah, this was one of those odd rulings they made.. that ended up sparking more questions. Faqs should not create more questions..

But I remember reading about this when it came out. Basically.. if you are going to have a whole unit of models of removed.. its going to be because you did something to cause it.. which I think is great.

Back in 3rd edition.. an ordnance shot resulting with a 6 would remove the model, and any units embarked inside. Landraiders filled and hq and some termies were always huge targets because of it. I remember playing my buddy once who was playing Black Templars.. he had 5 terminators with a grand marshall and Chaplain in terminator armour and the emperors champion riding in a land raider crusader. First shot of the game from a basilisk took it out. Everything gone.. To add insult to injury.. the shot scattered slightly enough to catch the razorback sitting beside it.. since there were no partial str. rules then, i also got a 6 and removed that and the unit inside. Over 1000 points destroyed on one shot.

We dont have to talk about how dumb a move that was on his part.. but its a pretty fantastic shot to remember.

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4692
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Moving Flat-Out, Destroyed

Post  Lore Weaver on Wed Dec 28, 2011 10:06 pm

Just to be clear, this is the "turn" we're talking about right?

--

Q: What is meant when the term ‘turn’ is used? (p9)
A: Whenever the word turn is used it means player
turn. Otherwise it will clearly state game turn. In a
complete game turn both players get a player turn.
Hence one game turn will comprise two player turn

--

Therefore, if he blows up my barge that moved flat-out, the dude inside hopes out as normal.

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Moving Flat-Out, Destroyed

Post  System Commander on Wed Dec 28, 2011 10:17 pm

Yes.. but if you move flat out and immobilize yourself in the process (dangerous terrain).. you will lose your unit.

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4692
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Moving Flat-Out, Destroyed

Post  Sponsored content Today at 2:47 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum