Multi-Assaulting Scarabs wreck a Deadnaught

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Multi-Assaulting Scarabs wreck a Deadnaught

Post  Lore Weaver on Thu Dec 08, 2011 9:28 am

This came up in a game against "The Kid"

He had a Melta Dread right next to a unit of 10 tactical marines, so my 10 scarabs assaulted both "units".

I got 6 bases in with the Dread, 4 on the marines.

Dread went first, killed two bases (I took out two that were on marines). The marines did 7 wounds, I made 2 saves (took off one more base against the marines, and two wounds on another. Right now, I'm down by 11 wounds.

The six scarabs get their swanky 30 attacks. I get 21 hits, and entropic strike takes out the dreadnaught. (so... no combat result? that's the question :-) The remaining base, luckily, takes out a marine. I have to make 10 fearless armour saves. Even though I wrecked the Dread, I didn't think that would count towards combat resolution, as it got wrecked before I could glance or pen it.

Did I do this right? I think I did (besides, I wanted to give "The Kid" the benefit of the doubt).

"The Kid" went on to win the game :-)

(Scarabs are amazing, Landraider and Dreadnought dead and a tac squad tied up for the low low price of 150pts)

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Multi-Assaulting Scarabs wreck a Deadnaught

Post  System Commander on Thu Dec 08, 2011 2:05 pm

You almost got it right. I di believe from recall that each glancing or pen you get counts as a wound for combat resolution. If someone else can confirm that though. So you still would of lost, just not as bad.

However i dont know how ES works, so maybe u did do ut right.

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4689
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Multi-Assaulting Scarabs wreck a Deadnaught

Post  Lore Weaver on Thu Dec 08, 2011 2:09 pm

System Commander wrote:You almost got it right. I di believe from recall that each glancing or pen you get counts as a wound for combat resolution. If someone else can confirm that though. So you still would of lost, just not as bad.

However i dont know how ES works, so maybe u did do ut right.

I think I got it right :-) As the dreadnaught is wrecked by ES before I get a chance to pen or glance. :-)

Lore Weaver
Lord of Titan

Posts : 4609
Join date : 2010-01-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Multi-Assaulting Scarabs wreck a Deadnaught

Post  System Commander on Thu Dec 08, 2011 5:12 pm

Ahh, yep.. a good..rule but as you described.. a bit detrimental in a multi assault.

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4689
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Multi-Assaulting Scarabs wreck a Deadnaught

Post  Timbo on Thu Dec 08, 2011 5:35 pm

Technically you are correct. The best kind of correct.

Timbo
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1177
Join date : 2009-01-26
Age : 46
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Multi-Assaulting Scarabs wreck a Deadnaught

Post  Sponsored content Today at 7:14 pm


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum