From my last game....

View previous topic View next topic Go down

From my last game....

Post  Roland on Fri Apr 29, 2011 4:44 pm

From my last game with Mike, a few questions came up, and neither of us could find the answers...

1) A Squad of assault marines hit a Rhino w/ a melta pistol and wreck it, causing an emergency disembark for the passengers. Can they then assault the passengers? We got around it b/c he could technically assault multiple units (the Rhino w/one guy and everyone else hit the squad) but what if he has blown up the Rhino w/ the melta shot???

2) Shooting at an immobilized dread. IF you shoot it, it's in the rear fire arc, so rear armor. By what we could find in the rules, if you assault an immobile Dread, it is still vs it's front armor due to "superior mobily"? WTF?! It's limber enough to present it's front armour to everyone in a 360 degree circle, but it can't pivot to shoot???? Please tell me we missed something here.

3) Just to clarify my understanding. If an infantry squad assaults a dread (or anything else with a WS characteristic) both are locked and neither may be fired at. If a Infantry squad were to assault a tank, with say a PF and grenade, they are not locked and are viable targets to anyone in range, correct?

_________________
Habes obdura si ista sis nugax - family proverb

Roland
Lord of Titan

Posts : 3544
Join date : 2011-01-26
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: From my last game....

Post  System Commander on Fri Apr 29, 2011 5:31 pm

1) Yes, you can assault the squad if you wreck/destroy the vehicle. I'm quite sure about this, but can't give you any stats/pages right now. I actually can't even remember if it was a faq'd item, or where the ruling came from. I remember being hazy on this when the new edition first came out, but then quite clear on it afterwards.

2) It's a goofy thing about the Dread, but I'm pretty sure that's how it works. Even crappier, once you immobilize it, it'd be nice if you get out of combat with it, but your stuck, and going after the front armor.

3) Your right, you can move freely and you can be shot. Remember though, you get to make assualt attacks in your opponents turn if your in base to base with a vehicle as well. Of course, you get no consolidations or anything, but its a free round of attacks people forget about.

Hopefully I remembered everthing right. Might be a bit fuzzy on the rules only playing once in the last year.. eek.. need to get playing here.

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4693
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: From my last game....

Post  Matthew G on Fri Apr 29, 2011 6:31 pm

1) yea you can!
2) unfortunate you would use front armor for assaults regardless of the side you assault
3) unless it's a walker you are never locked in combat with vehicles

Matthew G
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1083
Join date : 2008-06-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: From my last game....

Post  Roland on Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:36 pm

1) I figured you could, you SHOULD, but it was like massive brainfart. Still looking for the actual rule. If anyone has a pg number in the BRB let me know. Actual as I've been reading, I don't think you can assault a wreck, as "the model becomes a wreck and it treated as terrain."

2) Ok that's the rule, but I don't have to like it. Immobilized dread=assault on rear armor, and you should be no longer locked in combat. IE if it's immobilized it's a vehicle, not a walker anymore. Just my $0.02

3) What I thought.

_________________
Habes obdura si ista sis nugax - family proverb

Roland
Lord of Titan

Posts : 3544
Join date : 2011-01-26
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: From my last game....

Post  Roland on Fri Apr 29, 2011 11:16 pm

Found it. BRB pg 67 last paragraph above "dedicated transports" and below: "notes"

_________________
Habes obdura si ista sis nugax - family proverb

Roland
Lord of Titan

Posts : 3544
Join date : 2011-01-26
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: From my last game....

Post  Sponsored content Today at 4:59 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum