rage

Page 2 of 3 Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Re: rage

Post  Paz on Wed Apr 14, 2010 10:14 pm

As per the wording of "rage" you would need to physically move towards the nearest unit, not take the time to think tactically and jump in your rhino. I haven't read the Orc faq yet though.

Paz
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2715
Join date : 2008-03-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: rage

Post  Guardian Angel on Thu Apr 15, 2010 8:54 am

Paz wrote:As per the wording of "rage" you would need to physically move towards the nearest unit, not take the time to think tactically and jump in your rhino. I haven't read the Orc faq yet though.

Ya....that is kinda what I was thinking too.....so a Transport for your DC is really only a 1 shot item.....once they are out doing their things, that is it for them.

I am starting to think a DC drop pod may be the best way to go.......gets them to the front line guaranteed.....then they get to do their thing.

Guardian Angel
Grandmaster

Posts : 425
Join date : 2008-03-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: rage

Post  Paz on Thu Apr 15, 2010 12:48 pm

Unless you drive the rhino in front of them, blocking line of site. If they can't see an enemy, they don't rage.

Paz
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2715
Join date : 2008-03-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: rage

Post  Guardian Angel on Thu Apr 15, 2010 1:23 pm

Paz wrote:Unless you drive the rhino in front of them, blocking line of site. If they can't see an enemy, they don't rage.

Ah yes.....very sneaky paz......

Guardian Angel
Grandmaster

Posts : 425
Join date : 2008-03-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: rage

Post  smackman on Thu Apr 15, 2010 1:29 pm

I'm only letting you do that if you free hand a tampon on your rhino paz, to stop the "rage"

smackman
Inquisitor Lord

Posts : 754
Join date : 2008-11-03

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: rage

Post  Paz on Thu Apr 15, 2010 2:15 pm

For that sporty, active death company on the go!

Paz
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2715
Join date : 2008-03-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: rage

Post  System Commander on Thu Apr 15, 2010 5:25 pm

Thats up for debate as well, unless the rule says Line of Sight.

All of the rage rules in the past always made you move towards the nearest enemy unit, line of sight or not. Even if you can't see them, your probably aware something's there.. thats what all those fancy year 40,000 gadgets are for!

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4693
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: rage

Post  Veyure on Thu Apr 15, 2010 5:31 pm

The rule says closest visible enemy. All those people arguing that visible and line of sight don't match up in the rule book is bulls hit. Anyone who speaks english should know better than that. they are just trying to squeeze the rules for their own argumentative sake.

Veyure
Inquisitor

Posts : 699
Join date : 2008-03-19
Age : 31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: rage

Post  gluvzer on Thu Apr 15, 2010 5:37 pm

Veyure wrote:The rule says closest visible enemy. All those people arguing that visible and line of sight don't match up in the rule book is bulls hit. Anyone who speaks english should know better than that. they are just trying to squeeze the rules for their own argumentative sake.

It all depends on the models facing right? Razz

_________________

gluvzer
Lord of Titan/Hero of ToonCon/Ayatollah of Rock n' Rolla
Lord of Titan/Hero of ToonCon/Ayatollah of Rock n' Rolla

Posts : 1428
Join date : 2008-03-11
Location : S'toon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: rage

Post  Veyure on Thu Apr 15, 2010 6:28 pm

gluvzer wrote:

It all depends on the models facing right? Razz

Nice ryan. lame as s losers they are.

Veyure
Inquisitor

Posts : 699
Join date : 2008-03-19
Age : 31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: rage

Post  Paz on Thu Apr 15, 2010 6:37 pm

Robyn= As Greg so eloquently put it, "nearest visible enemy". So if the squad does not have LOS to anyone, no rage.

Paz
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2715
Join date : 2008-03-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: rage

Post  System Commander on Thu Apr 15, 2010 6:53 pm

Cool, thats a big benefit over the old rules! I think the Chaos codex still has the dreadnaught moving towards the nearest unit.. visible or not.

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4693
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: rage

Post  Guest on Fri Apr 16, 2010 1:11 am

Alternately, I imagine you could embark on the vehicle if it was in the direction you were going. Ie, you move the death company 6" which puts them within the 2" embark range on a vehicle. Takes some clever placement, but I think it works. =)

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: rage

Post  Paz on Fri Apr 16, 2010 1:55 am

Also, a easy trick for not assaulting retarded units, like a dreadnought or rhino is to shoot those bolters at another unit. Means you don't need to assault the closer unit (as you already shot at one, and rage doesn't dictate units you need to shoot at). haHA!

Paz
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2715
Join date : 2008-03-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: rage

Post  System Commander on Fri Apr 16, 2010 9:32 am

I thought one of the faq's took care of that. As in, they said you can't shoot at another unit if it means you won't be able to launch an assault that turn?

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4693
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: rage

Post  Paz on Fri Apr 16, 2010 9:54 am

I checked the 40k rulebook faq, but I didn't see such a ruling. Is that in another Faq there Robyn?

Paz
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2715
Join date : 2008-03-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: rage

Post  Guest on Fri Apr 16, 2010 12:28 pm

Unless they've changed rage, back when I was using the blood rage I felt it was very clear

Model moves towards whatever hostile thing is closest to them, be it a titan, an immobile weaponless transport, a skimmer just across dangerous terrain,

The FAQ in redards to vehicles on Mad'doc grotsnik's rage is as follows: http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m970066a_FAQ_Orks_Feb2010

Q. Can Grotsnik board a vehicle if doing so will get him closer to the nearest enemy than if he moved normally?

A. In the spirit of the rule, if embarking in a vehicle will not prevent him from charging that turn and will also get him closer to the nearest enemy than moving normally that turn, he may do that. Once aboard, the vehicle must always move in such a way as to move as fast as possible towards the closest enemy and allow Grotsnik to disembark and charge the closest enemy as soon as possible.

-so Rage from my understanding is also confered upon any transport the raged unit enters, so if DC is in a LR, then "Once aboard, the vehicle must always move in such a way as to move as fast as possible towards the closest enemy and allow [the raged unit] to disembark and charge the closest enemy as soon as possible."

But the DC may re-enter a transport after disembarking, " if embarking in a vehicle will not prevent [them] from charging that turn and will also get [them] closer to the nearest enemy than moving normally that turn, [they] may do that"

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And I know this isnt the exact same thing as rage but for inquisitors:

Righteous fury(priests)- May move as normal. Always count as moving, may not shoot if it will prevent them from charging. Must charge in the assault phase if able to reach a target, though they don't need to assault the closest one
(edited as per the FAQ psichotykwyrm posted)

So, thats all teh FAQ I can find on rage....

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: rage

Post  gluvzer on Fri Apr 16, 2010 12:41 pm

Seems like that could easily cause arguments. How do you measure what "could" be the fastest way to an enemy? Especially in the case of a Rhino or Razorback that you can't assault out of and need an extra turn to get out and stand there.

_________________

gluvzer
Lord of Titan/Hero of ToonCon/Ayatollah of Rock n' Rolla
Lord of Titan/Hero of ToonCon/Ayatollah of Rock n' Rolla

Posts : 1428
Join date : 2008-03-11
Location : S'toon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: rage

Post  Guest on Fri Apr 16, 2010 12:44 pm

Iff the DC are out of assault range, then they can jump into a vehicle as long as they end up more than 6" closer to what was their nearest enemy before embarking, since they will then be closer and able to hop out and assault next turn

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: rage

Post  gluvzer on Fri Apr 16, 2010 12:46 pm

True

_________________

gluvzer
Lord of Titan/Hero of ToonCon/Ayatollah of Rock n' Rolla
Lord of Titan/Hero of ToonCon/Ayatollah of Rock n' Rolla

Posts : 1428
Join date : 2008-03-11
Location : S'toon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: rage

Post  Veyure on Fri Apr 16, 2010 3:27 pm

Adding the rage rule to the vehicle the unit in then adds the ability to confer DoA onto a drop pod or landraider or gunship for deep striking purposes. so if anyone feels like opening that box....

it's a tough one based on that. I think it's a terrible ruling IMO. The rage model/unit is nto the ones driving and such the vehicle should not be subject to rage.

Veyure
Inquisitor

Posts : 699
Join date : 2008-03-19
Age : 31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: rage

Post  Guest on Fri Apr 16, 2010 4:28 pm

Well thats not my interpretation of the rule; it is Games Workshop's FAQ

As they have spellt it, as per their most recent errata/FAQ upon raged models and vehicles,

"Once aboard, the vehicle must always move in such a way as to move as fast as possible towards the closest enemy and allow [the raged unit] to disembark and charge the closest enemy as soon as possible."

And so, you can deep strike anywhere, but if your LR is on the table turn one, and I go first,.. then I can unload a rhino and drive it up 6 inches, and keep the rest of my army back. The Death Company will yell at their drivers to rush headlong into centerfeild so that they can jump out and beat the =I=censor=I= out of my empty Rhino with their Thunderhammers and furious charge

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: rage

Post  Viserion on Fri Apr 16, 2010 5:07 pm

Correct me if I am wrong as I don't have an Ork codex in front of me but Mad Dok Grotsnik is not subject to rage but his own form of "madness". It seems to be a bit of a jump to say "it's sort of like rage, so lets call it rage and apply it to other non special characters and basic troop choices"

Viserion
Sage

Posts : 97
Join date : 2009-09-22

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: rage

Post  Guest on Fri Apr 16, 2010 5:24 pm

Oh, I didnt know if it was something different, I figured his only madness thing was that he gave rage to squads he joins....

Seeing as several players are probably going to be playing BA this sunday, and are likely to include a death company, how exactly are we going to rule them?

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: rage

Post  Veyure on Fri Apr 16, 2010 6:11 pm

Well if the dok has a rule different rule than rage then the faq does not apply to rage. I would suggest keep with the tradition that a model's special rules do not transfer to vehicles they are in. otherwise the DoA would also have to the same way and drop pods and land raiders deep striking with models with the ability get to reroll reserves and only scatter 1d6.

Veyure
Inquisitor

Posts : 699
Join date : 2008-03-19
Age : 31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: rage

Post  Sponsored content Today at 4:57 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 2 of 3 Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum