Bad wording...

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Bad wording...

Post  judchic on Wed Feb 10, 2010 4:46 pm

So based on the tyranid codex wording models with wings canno deep strike. In the old codex they were treated as jump infantry but now they move as jump infantry. Unless I'm mistaken (which I hope...)
also question regarding shooting a psychic power at a friendly model. Are you able to assault/ shoot weapons at an enemy or does that count as your shooting for the turn?

judchic
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1050
Join date : 2008-10-20
Age : 29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Bad wording...

Post  Terran on Wed Feb 10, 2010 6:13 pm

From my experience, the only time that using a psychic power impacts your targets for shooting/assaulting is if it is a psychic shooting attack. If something is designated a psychic shooting attack, then you have to assault what you shoot at. Otherwise, psych out.

Terran
Assassin

Posts : 305
Join date : 2009-09-14
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Bad wording...

Post  Guest on Wed Feb 10, 2010 10:38 pm

Tyrants with wings can deep strike. Necron Destroyers (and Wraiths and Scarabs) move like jetbikes, and GW says they may use the turbo-boosting rule because... well, it's a part of movement and it's under the "movement" header in the rulebook.

Since the Deep Strike clause is in the same paragraph as the movement information for jump infantry, they may make use of deep strike despite not actually being jump infantry. Deep striking is done during the movement phase, as well, so if anyone tries to argue that "but it's a different phase" bullcrap... kindly point out that GW only really defines three phases for 40K.

question regarding shooting a psychic power at a friendly model. Are you able to assault/ shoot weapons at an enemy or does that count as your shooting for the turn?
Psychic shooting attacks count as "an assault weapon, unless specified" (page 50). So unless specified, use the rules for assault weapons (can shoot if moved, can assault same target you shot at, etc.)

If you use a psychic shooting attack against a friendly unit (does this exist anywhere?), since the entire squad must direct their fire at the same target per the shooting rules, no one else may fire at anyone else or assault any other target.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Bad wording...

Post  judchic on Wed Feb 10, 2010 11:06 pm

HolyCause wrote:
If you use a psychic shooting attack against a friendly unit (does this exist anywhere?), since the entire squad must direct their fire at the same target per the shooting rules, no one else may fire at anyone else or assault any other target.

Catalyst and onslaught are psychic shooting attacks that auto hit a friendly unit and grant a benefit. again this wording hurts me...

judchic
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1050
Join date : 2008-10-20
Age : 29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Bad wording...

Post  Guest on Wed Feb 10, 2010 11:09 pm

Catalyst is not. "A psychic power used during the movement phase."

Onslaught is, I would assume that GW ruled it that way as a method of getting the Tervigon to lend its psychic powers to someone else, allowing them to do what it cannot. By RAW, the Tervigon cannot do anything after using this power (since it cannot assault a friendly unit nor shoot at it)

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Bad wording...

Post  Sponsored content Today at 11:12 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum