~Carnifex's and their buddies!~

View previous topic View next topic Go down

~Carnifex's and their buddies!~

Post  Paz on Fri Feb 05, 2010 10:34 am

Okay. question. I've seen this argument being thrown around a lot.

In the rules, it says IC's can never join a unit allways made up of "a single model". So no MC's, or another IC.

But you can now take Carnifex's in a unit, therefore they are not allways a single model.

So could you join a Tyranid prime to a carnifex squad?

Paz
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2715
Join date : 2008-03-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: ~Carnifex's and their buddies!~

Post  Guardian Angel on Fri Feb 05, 2010 10:39 am

I dont see why they could not.....

Guardian Angel
Grandmaster

Posts : 425
Join date : 2008-03-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: ~Carnifex's and their buddies!~

Post  Guest on Fri Feb 05, 2010 11:44 am

Yes, for the same reason that my Necron Lord can join Tomb Spyders. Because they can be either deployed as one unit of MCs (due to some weird 3rd/5th edition rule wording conflicts) or because the Spyders generate their own Scarab swarms (thus forming a unit), they are not always a one model unit.

The real issue is whether or not a Prime can join a singular carnifex. The rule on whether or not they are always a single model is not distinguished between what they are within the context of a list or what they could be as per codex options. I would say by strict wording of the rule that they can.

BTW, ICs can join other ICs; they are not always "one single model" since they can join other units; that proves the statement "always consisting of one model" false. I think that is covered in the IC section, including some rhetoric about "a super unit of ICs".

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: ~Carnifex's and their buddies!~

Post  Terran on Fri Feb 05, 2010 2:25 pm

But doesn't the fact that they are monstrous creatures prevent them from being joined by an IC?

Terran
Assassin

Posts : 305
Join date : 2009-09-14
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: ~Carnifex's and their buddies!~

Post  Paz on Fri Feb 05, 2010 2:40 pm

thats the hitch. The reason ICs cant join MCs, is because MCs are allways made up of a single model. Until now that is.

Paz
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2715
Join date : 2008-03-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: ~Carnifex's and their buddies!~

Post  Veyure on Fri Feb 05, 2010 5:52 pm

They cannot join units that always consist of a single model. the part that says "(like most vehicles and monstrous creatures)" is an example of what they cannot join with. IC's can always join with any other IC or any unit that does not consist of always one model.

SO, if a monstrous creature is able to be chosen as a multi-model unit, i don't see why they wouldnt be able to join them.

Veyure
Inquisitor

Posts : 699
Join date : 2008-03-19
Age : 31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: ~Carnifex's and their buddies!~

Post  Guest on Fri Feb 05, 2010 11:56 pm

I'd have to go with the majority on this one so far, that YES IC's can join MC squads, most specifically I'd sight the usage of the word 'most' in "like most vehicles and monstrous creatures". It seems more inclusive than exclusive.

Didn't they have a question about this in the Necron FAQ RE: tomb spyders?
**EDIT: Just checked and apparently it was NOT adressed in the necron FAQ, one way or the other..**

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: ~Carnifex's and their buddies!~

Post  Sponsored content Today at 10:23 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum