NADE OUT!

View previous topic View next topic Go down

NADE OUT!

Post  Guest on Thu Feb 04, 2010 10:10 pm

Are krak grenades assault grenades?

The rulebook says "and so on" (pg 36). Wtf does that mean?

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: NADE OUT!

Post  Guest on Thu Feb 04, 2010 10:41 pm

Huh. You know, I've honestly no idea.

My gut tells me probably not as they're supposed to be dedicated for anti-vehicle, but.. Hmmm.

Better question, are there units that get krak but not frag, but have the option of taking both? I know marines get both, and if Krak functioned as assault nade's, then that'd be completely redundant..

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: NADE OUT!

Post  Guest on Thu Feb 04, 2010 10:42 pm

Some guards can take frag/krak, Inquisition can take either/both.

My understanding was Frag are assault, and Krak are just for tank-killing.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: NADE OUT!

Post  Paz on Thu Feb 04, 2010 11:50 pm

i dunno. I've never run into such a situation. If it says "and so on" I assume all types of grenades are assault grenades.

Paz
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2709
Join date : 2008-03-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: NADE OUT!

Post  Guest on Fri Feb 05, 2010 8:51 am

So photon grenades and snare mines are both assault and defensive?

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: NADE OUT!

Post  Paz on Fri Feb 05, 2010 9:53 am

Woaw woaw, no, thats not what I said. If it says defense, its defense, such as photon grenades, or the Venomthrope cloud. If it isn't clearly a defense grenade, I assume it falls under assault (this of course is my interpretation of RAI). Its not really that important though, as having krak but no frag is a rare occurance, and isn't game deciding.

The only time its defense AND assault is if it explicitely says so, such as Aura of Aquisence.

Paz
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2709
Join date : 2008-03-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: NADE OUT!

Post  Matthew G on Fri Feb 05, 2010 10:55 am

I have always been under the impression that Frag Grenades are "assault" grenades, and things like Krak grenades, and other things like haywire etc, are for vehicle killing....

Matthew G
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1083
Join date : 2008-06-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: NADE OUT!

Post  Cjihad on Fri Feb 05, 2010 11:20 am

Frag grenades and similar grenades can be used to negate the Initiative bonus awarded to units in cover allowing assaulting troops to strike at the same time.

Krak grenades can be used against vehicles in an assault, but cannot be used against infantry or non vehicle models offensively.

The rules for grenades are on pages 36 (for assaulting) and 63 (for using them on vehicles) in the big rule book.

Cjihad
Mystic

Posts : 115
Join date : 2008-04-02

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: NADE OUT!

Post  Guest on Fri Feb 05, 2010 11:40 am

Thank-you for re-stating the obvious. Would you care to tell me that only one attack can be made per grenade?

The question was if krak grenades as assault grenades; page 36 makes no distinction on this. Pg 63 does, by separating them between "assault+defensive" grenades and krak grenades.

Kudos to the dudes at dakkadakka for spelling this out to me.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: NADE OUT!

Post  Cjihad on Fri Feb 05, 2010 12:00 pm

HolyCause wrote:Thank-you for re-stating the obvious. Would you care to tell me that only one attack can be made per grenade?


Anytime...

Also each model using grenades can only ever make attack, regardless of the number of attacks on their profile and any bonus attacks.

Cjihad
Mystic

Posts : 115
Join date : 2008-04-02

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: NADE OUT!

Post  Guest on Fri Feb 05, 2010 12:08 pm

lol. well played.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: NADE OUT!

Post  Paz on Fri Feb 05, 2010 12:31 pm

HolyCause= You do know you are being an difficult right? like, a huge d to the b, if you catch my drift, and not in the wink wink witty way. I'm wondering, what units would this be important for? pretty much the Ordos right? based on the cost of frag (what is it, 1 or 2 pts a model?) I doubt this is very important.

And Chris does have a point, it defines the use of the grenade as seperate. The word "grenade" before krak does not grant it the frag abilities, so I retract my earlier assumption.

Paz
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2709
Join date : 2008-03-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: NADE OUT!

Post  Guest on Fri Feb 05, 2010 5:40 pm

Guardsmen (the standard "3 is my favourite number" variety) have the option of taking krak grenades but not frag. The "assaulting into cover" bit is important.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: NADE OUT!

Post  Sponsored content Today at 3:05 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum