doom of malan'tai

View previous topic View next topic Go down

doom of malan'tai

Post  judchic on Tue Jan 26, 2010 5:06 pm

So the question is do you get cover from its power spirit leech?
power reads:
"at the beginning of every shooting phase, including the foe's, every non vehicle model within 6" of the doom of malan'tai must take a leadership test on 3d6. if the test is failed the unit suffers a single wound for each point it failed by, with no armor saves allowed."

the debate is that its not a shooting attack (or a psychic test) but it takes place in the shooting phase.

judchic
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1050
Join date : 2008-10-20
Age : 29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: doom of malan'tai

Post  Paz on Tue Jan 26, 2010 5:11 pm

Oh jeez... The Tyranid codex is sweet, but there are literally 4 trillion threads out there debating this right now. I would vote yes, purely on intuition, it would be unfair to deny ppl cover against this, and since it DOESN'T say it denies cover... I think if they ment it to ignore cover, they would have put a clause there.

Paz
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2709
Join date : 2008-03-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: doom of malan'tai

Post  Guest on Tue Jan 26, 2010 5:15 pm

The closest comparison I've seen to that power is mind war, which does allow a cover save. Take that as you will.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: doom of malan'tai

Post  Guest on Tue Jan 26, 2010 5:38 pm

I'm on the fence untill the faq comes out. till then let the gods of dice decide.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: doom of malan'tai

Post  Guest on Tue Jan 26, 2010 9:24 pm

Do you get cover from the Pariah's Soulless aura?

Then you don't get cover from this.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: doom of malan'tai

Post  Paz on Tue Jan 26, 2010 9:37 pm

Does the pariah's soulless aura cause wounds in the shooting phase? No. Rolling Eyes

Paz
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2709
Join date : 2008-03-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: doom of malan'tai

Post  Terran on Tue Jan 26, 2010 10:04 pm

Who votes for a 1+ cover save while a unit is embarked on a transport? Me!

Sad

Nah, I have been reading a whole whack of threads about this (mostly on my nights). The argument for allowing it to wound units in transports is that it doesn't specify LoS and the embarked unit is still technically on the table. Mind War differs because it specifies a target, at least. This stupid power doesn't.

What concerns me is the potential ramifications with things that the rules are silent on, like falling back from a transport (which some argue could result in the destruction of the embarked unit). Not to mention the effect on other units, like Nyjal Stormcaller, which have similar effects.

It bothers me that one unit in one Codex could suddenly shift the balance of the game. Then I console myself with the realization that this power is only a 6" range.

Terran
Assassin

Posts : 305
Join date : 2009-09-14
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: doom of malan'tai

Post  judchic on Tue Jan 26, 2010 10:27 pm

and a T4 unique character has it so its not like every nids list is going to have it.
...
right?
...
ya right,,,

judchic
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1050
Join date : 2008-10-20
Age : 29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: doom of malan'tai

Post  Paz on Tue Jan 26, 2010 10:50 pm

Depends. The doom is such a situational creature, one failed 3++ against strength 8 and byby. You have to pod it, and then you are dropping at least 130 pts for a small area attack unit. I see ppl taking squads of 3 zoans for that elite slot.

Paz
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2709
Join date : 2008-03-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: doom of malan'tai

Post  System Commander on Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:57 pm

I would definitely side with the unit getting cover saves for the wounds, primaily because it doesn`t specify it ignores cover. As for the units embarked, I would definitely side with the belief they cannot be affected. I cant think of anything in the game that effects embarked units.. anda shooting attack definitely would not.

As a side note, can anyone think of anything that touches embarked units

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4689
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: doom of malan'tai

Post  Paz on Wed Jan 27, 2010 12:04 am

The parasite of Mortrex's "sarge is acting strangely" rule does. If a unit in a vehicle fails a toughness test, then a model from the unit stumbles out of the transport, and spawns d6 rippers.

Paz
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2709
Join date : 2008-03-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: doom of malan'tai

Post  System Commander on Wed Jan 27, 2010 12:10 am

Interesting.,. I was wondering when they were going to start introducing powers that can get embarked units.. this is just the beginning!

However, that is an awesome power!

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4689
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: doom of malan'tai

Post  Guest on Wed Jan 27, 2010 12:15 am

Paz wrote:Does the pariah's soulless aura cause wounds in the shooting phase? No. Rolling Eyes
Hmm, ok, terrible argument. Razz

I don't think a cover save should be allowed against this ability, because it's an "aura". I don't see how hiding behind a brick wall is going to prevent your soul from being sucked from your body. The warp cares not about that piece of mud you're sitting behind. But fluff is always the worst argument to be had against, so...

I think if they ment it to ignore cover, they would have put a clause there.
This pretty much sums it up. Saving throws are allowed against any wounds done; that is the important bit noted... well, wherever you look at saving throws in the rulebook. GW implicitly states when they're not allowed - for example, when Tomb Spyders create Scarab Swarms, on a roll of 1 on a D6 they take a wound and receive an armour save because it is not written that they do not - every other occurrence of someone being denied an armour save is clearly stated. The same thing goes for cover saves.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: doom of malan'tai

Post  Veyure on Wed Jan 27, 2010 8:21 am

I finally agree with you HC. Saves are only ignored if it states it. like allowing invuln saves against dangerous terrain etc.

Veyure
Inquisitor

Posts : 699
Join date : 2008-03-19
Age : 31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: doom of malan'tai

Post  smackman on Wed Jan 27, 2010 4:00 pm

I remember reading a FAQ about something (unrelated) but GW stated that if it doesn't say you are denied your save then you get your save, like why you get an armor save against "Gets Hot" etc, and since it, 1) doesn't say it ignores cover saves and 2) Isn't a template weapon, it's pretty clear you get a cover save...

Also, it's obviously a shooting attack, its done in the shooting phase, I mean what's running if not shooting with your legs?

smackman
Inquisitor Lord

Posts : 754
Join date : 2008-11-03

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: doom of malan'tai

Post  Paz on Wed Jan 27, 2010 4:22 pm

So... if you run into dangerous terrain, do you get a cover save? From your legs? HUH TOM WELL DO YOU.
This weapon is ap 2 though, so it does deny regular saves. Thats not the issue, its whether it also denies cover. Otherwise, marine doom!

Paz
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2709
Join date : 2008-03-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: doom of malan'tai

Post  smackman on Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:58 am

of course paz, I always take a cover saves when running my orks through dangerous terrain lol

smackman
Inquisitor Lord

Posts : 754
Join date : 2008-11-03

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: doom of malan'tai

Post  judchic on Thu Jan 28, 2010 3:17 pm

Paz wrote:So... if you run into dangerous terrain, do you get a cover save? From your legs? HUH TOM WELL DO YOU.
This weapon is ap 2 though, so it does deny regular saves. Thats not the issue, its whether it also denies cover. Otherwise, marine doom!
it's not ap2... It's that you get no armor saves.

judchic
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1050
Join date : 2008-10-20
Age : 29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: doom of malan'tai

Post  Paz on Thu Jan 28, 2010 3:39 pm

same thing

Paz
Lord of Titan

Posts : 2709
Join date : 2008-03-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: doom of malan'tai

Post  Sponsored content Today at 11:13 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum