Recon restrictions

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Recon restrictions

Post  Guest on Tue Oct 13, 2009 7:13 pm

Just settling an arguement more than actually wanting to use this, but it came up that the recon rules are different from the 40K in a flash.

Specifically instead of mentioning no 2+ saves, it mentions no armor saves better than 3+. Is this intentional, ie. Does it allow for 2+ cover or 2+ inv (Such as the Dark Eldar shadowfield.)

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Recon restrictions

Post  sewerstalker on Tue Oct 13, 2009 7:43 pm

In recon missions it means no 2+ saves of any kind(i think there is exeption to cover but i am not sure about that). Hope that helps. Smile

sewerstalker
Assassin

Posts : 379
Join date : 2009-08-21

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Recon restrictions

Post  master of the deathwing on Tue Oct 13, 2009 7:49 pm

It says "armour" saves, so it might not mean invunerable saves. Just ask Robyn, he'll tell ya.

master of the deathwing
Crusader

Posts : 238
Join date : 2009-08-13
Location : saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Recon restrictions

Post  Guest on Tue Oct 13, 2009 8:18 pm

Just armour. After all, cover saves are dependant on the terrain and so on, not your figures - also I don't think there are any 2+ Invulnerable saves at all are there?

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Recon restrictions

Post  Guest on Tue Oct 13, 2009 8:28 pm

About half a dozen through the various rulebooks. Off the top of my head, sisters of battle with 2+ armor using faith to make it inv, Ghazgul with his special waagh. Dark eldar shadowfield is the only one I could find that works in recon, which is that it gives you a 2+ inv save that can be used once.

And most ways of getting 2+ cover are dependant on your figs. A unit with camo cloaks that goes to ground in 4+ cover ends up with 2+. Eldar pathfinders that stand in cover have 2+ (I think.) Space marine bolstered ruins coupled with camo cloaks, etc.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Recon restrictions

Post  Guest on Tue Oct 13, 2009 9:22 pm

About half a dozen through the various rulebooks. Off the top of my head, sisters of battle with 2+ armor using faith to make it inv,
The model doesn't have a 2+ invulnerable save. It has a regular save (which would be excluded) that it can apply a special rule to.

Ghazgul with his special waagh.
Same deal. Additionally excluded for a variety of reasons.

Dark eldar shadowfield is the only one I could find that works in recon,
Interesting, never even knew that existed.

And most ways of getting 2+ cover are dependant on your figs. A unit with camo cloaks that goes to ground in 4+ cover ends up with 2+. Eldar pathfinders that stand in cover have 2+ (I think.) Space marine bolstered ruins coupled with camo cloaks, etc.
Of course it is, but the model doesn't have a 2+ save, he has Stealth or some other rule that can combine with cover to provide a cover save.

The recon rule says armour, so only armour is at issue.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Recon restrictions

Post  Guest on Tue Oct 13, 2009 9:49 pm

I do understand that. What I'm checking for is clarification that the rule is written as intended. From what I can tell, the x-com rules we use are based off of 40k in a flash, which excludes all 2+ saves, not just armor. Just doublechecking basically. ^_^

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Recon restrictions

Post  System Commander on Tue Oct 13, 2009 10:09 pm

The recon rules are based on the 40K in a Flash but arent identical.

No 2+ armour or invulnerable saves.. although I believe the Shadow field is the only 2+ invulnerable save in the game..

Cover saves at any value are fine.

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4693
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Recon restrictions

Post  Guest on Tue Oct 13, 2009 10:16 pm

Thats basically what I figured. Would be really weird if cover saves couldn't go to 2+ (Eldar rangers are legal to take, but god help you if you put them in cover! Hehe.)

Thanks for the swift response!

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Recon restrictions

Post  Matthew G on Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:08 pm

Tyranid Lictors in Cover, will have a 2+ cover save
Pathfinder (rangers) in cover have a 2+ cover save

Other than a shadow field I don't know of any other 2+ cover saves or invulnerable

Matthew G
Lord of Titan

Posts : 1083
Join date : 2008-06-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Recon restrictions

Post  Guest on Wed Oct 14, 2009 1:19 am

Imperial Guard in cover with Camo Cloaks gone to ground.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Recon restrictions

Post  Guest on Wed Oct 14, 2009 4:06 am

any model with stealth that goes to ground in cover would have 2+, not just guard.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Recon restrictions

Post  Lord_Commander_Stash on Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:24 pm

GodHead wrote:Imperial Guard in cover with Camo Cloaks gone to ground.

Or any guard squad in cover and ordered to go to ground (+2 to their cover save)

Lord_Commander_Stash
Grandmaster

Posts : 476
Join date : 2008-03-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Recon restrictions

Post  Guest on Fri Oct 23, 2009 9:25 am

Go to ground is only +1, same as being pinned. So most cover (4+) gives you only a normalish 3+ for going to ground.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Recon restrictions

Post  System Commander on Fri Oct 23, 2009 9:33 am

Guard squads can be ordered to go ground from their commander, which makes it +2 instead of +1.

System Commander
System Commander

Posts : 4693
Join date : 2008-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Recon restrictions

Post  Sponsored content Today at 4:59 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum